Can you FEEL THE HEAT?!!


Oh my GOODNESS!!!

Yesterday I’d all but given up any hope of placing in the Mills & Boon Feel The Heat contest at Iheart Presents, but this morning I woke up to an email from Joanne Carr, editor of Modern Heat.
I’m not THE WINNER but I am one of the Runners Up, which is such an exciting prize in itself. I’ve won an editorial critique with Lucy Gilmore. I cannot profess how ecstatic I am to have won this prize. I was going to throw myself back into this mss after a month off working on another submission, but now I’m gonna enjoy a few days break away with the family and wait until I’ve spoken to Lucy before continuing.
Hopefully with Lucy’s editorial wisdom and insight, I’ll be able to make this mss my best one yet!!
Now I really wish I could drink some champers!!!
18 thoughts on “Can you FEEL THE HEAT?!!

  1. So, how cool ARE you????VERY!Congrats, so well deserved. And here’s to you with some more of that imaginary champers (drat those december bubs).=)

  2. Rach, what a super result and prize. Mega-congratulations. You will learn so much from the editorial input, not just for this story but for your writing ever after.(If you twist my arm, I will have the champagne on your behalf.)Bron

  3. Tick, tock, tick, tock. The publishing clock’s just about hit twelve for you, my dear. Won’t be long and you’ll be regaling us with your call story.Once more, huuuuuge congratulations, Rach. Couldn’t have happened to a nicer person. Here’s hoping you get a request for the full, and then a lovely fat, multi book contract. Then when you’re famous, I can point and say, “I know her!”

  4. Yay Rach, you clever duck. Wont be long now, surely. Contests here, full submissions there – I can’t keep up with you! Enjoy the break with your family, you deserve it.Congrats again,Kirsty

  5. Thanks Christina, Natalie, Sussan, Monique, Bec, Bron, Cath, Nicola, Joanne and Kirsty – it’s so exciting to be able to share this opportunity with all you wonderful people. To Bec, Joanne and Cath who’ve all read this chapter, your ethusiasm makes me all warm and fuzzy inside. To Natalie, Bron and Nicola – thanks for taking the time out of your busy writing schedules to pop by… it means SO MUCH!!!And Bron… by all means.. have as much champers as you can on behalf 🙂

  6. To Ms. Rachael Johns,I have just read some of your posts. I liked the energy you fill into the words. If you are interested in reading short stories and other writings by an Indian author, do visit my blogs.Naval Langa

  7. WOO HOOO WOOO HOOOO! OMG Rach this is so fabulous – I can’t believe I have been away from blogger land and missed all the excitement – you are just a super star!! Big hug and kiss xxxxPS – Who/what is Rachael Denton??!!

I love comments...

