Special Guest – Chocolate Cake Maker Extraordinaire!

Today I’d like to welcome the delightful Anita Joy to my blog post. She posted in the comments section a few weeks back about a delicious (and quick) chocolate cake she makes in a mug! Now I’ve heard of this magic cake before but never made it myself, so I asked if she’d mind sharing her recipe with us!

With a lot of us writing madly for Romance Writers of Australia 50ks in 30 days challenge, Anita and I thought it was a good time
to post this quick and easy snack. I know I may just need a little late night sustenance to help me through the last half of the challenge. So without further ado… I’ll hand you over to Anita!

I don’t know about you, but I don’t do cold all that well. In winter I rely on comfort food to help me get through all sorts of situations – a bowl of hot soup after helping with outdoor sports at school, a yummy casserole at the end of a freezing, overcast day or a steaming mug of chai latte after braving the fridges in the supermarket.

The need for comfort food when I am writing in winter is no different. So, when you need to warm up, take a quick break, have a treat to reward a word count milestone, or need something just to keep you going – try THE MOST DANGEROUS CAKE around. Why is it dangerous? Because from start to eat takes only 5 minutes!



CHOCOLATE MUG CAKE

3 tbs self-raising flour

3 tsp sugar

1 tbs cocoa

4 tbs milk

1 tbs oil

2 tbs chocolate chips (optional)

1 large coffee mug

Add dry ingredients to the mug.

Pour in the milk and oil and mix well.

Add the chocolate chips (if using – and really, why aren’t you?), and mix again.

Tip: Make sure your choc chips are covered by cake mixture.

Put your mug in the microwave and cook for 3 minutes on high.

The cake will rise over the top of the mug, but don’t be alarmed!

Eat while hot, straight from the mug.

Serving suggestions: My kids and husband love to pour custard (kids) or cream (hubby) over the top (and it is a quick way to appease the family so you can sneak off and write *grin*).

And just to show proof it does work I cooked it in my RWA conference mug – and added an extra tablespoon of flour to demonstrate how it really doesn’t overflow.

It is so simple, and yummy, it will have you waddling into conference in no time *grin*.

Thanks heaps Anita!! Now I have a dare for all your readers. Make the mug cake and email me a pic at rachaeljohns077 at gmail dot com and I will post the pics next week. Go on… I DARE YOU! I’m in!

17 thoughts on “Special Guest – Chocolate Cake Maker Extraordinaire!

  1. Hey Rach and Anita

    Wahooo no egg in it either – I'm making this for desert tonight…count me in for this one!!!

    Will send photo's….warning: I'm not the best cook in the world…

    Thanks for sharing!

    Bye 4 now
    Tina

  2. Good word Mel – have you tried it?

    Cait – did it taste good though? Will steal a pic off your blog for mine if ya don't mind 🙂

    Ikv – no worries! Do have a go at the cake yourself and send me an email!

    Yay Tina – looking forward to the photos. And don't worry, it's REALLY easy!

  3. Report back…

    I sent you the photos – success in the kitchen last night!

    Easy as to make.

    Thanks for sharing it with us fellow choc-o-holics!!

    Bye 4 now
    Tina

I love comments...

