How Liia-Ann White’s Goals Turned To Christmas…

Today I have another Perth, Western Australia author (just a wee bit exciting), Liia-Ann White talking about her fabulous Christmas novella and how she came to write it…


At the beginning of this year I set myself two writing goals – to have a second book contracted or published by the end of 2011 as well as to write a holiday story. This holiday story didn’t need to be published, I just wanted to have a go at one and see if it would be accepted anywhere.

So when I received an email a few months ago from Decadent Publishing asking me to contribute a contemporary erotic romance for their 1Night Stand Holiday anthology I was floored! To say I was honoured is an understatement. I bounced off my chair, did a little jig around the house and squeed out-loud so much that I scared my dogs!

I’d only written one 1Night Stand story specifically for Decadent and had so much fun doing so; I wanted to write many more. One Hot Australian Night ticked one goal off my list – getting a second story published.

The next goal was ticked off before I even thought about writing a holiday story.

The 1Night Stand series contains stories written by some of the best writers I’ve heard of. The fact that a couple of them are friends of mine just makes the deal even sweeter. So to be a part of the 1Night Stand author group is such an incredible honour on its own. Being a newbie author in that group? It’s actually unbelievable. I still look at my books and the anthology that just came out and still don’t believe it. Being published is a dream come true, being multi-published is awesome. Being asked to contribute a story for an anthology is just mind-blowing.

I wrote the majority of Her First White Christmas with a big smile on my face. Not only because it was going to be my first holiday story (which ticked off my goal) but because it was so much fun. I write what I know best and, as an Aussie myself, what I know best is Australian culture and humour. So my two leads in this short story had to be Aussies in my mind. They are both fun, sarcastic, have dry humour and that typical Aussie ‘snark’ that we all have.

Remy is a fun-loving, hard-working Aussie living in America, but secretly longing to move to his home city of Melbourne so he can settle down with a family. Bella Donna is a sarcastic, happy-go-lucky Aussie woman who is just sick of meeting dudds.

The back and forth between these two came so naturally it was a breeze to write.

I just hope readers enjoy reading Remy and Bella Donna’s story as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Blurb of Her First White Christmas:

Remy Sommers has grown weary of his playboy lifestyle. He’s ready to fall in love and settle down. Problem is, he doesn’t know where to start. After attending his sister’s wedding, he takes her advice and contacts the 1 Night Stand dating agency – the same agency she used to find her new husband.

Bella Donna has had enough of blind dates. She’s always left bitterly disappointed. On the advice of a friend, she contacts Madame Evangeline,

hoping her reputation precedes her and she can find Bella Donna her perfect man.
A mysterious invitation from Madame Evangeline leads them both to the secluded and exclusive Castillo Lodge in Alaska for a holiday event.

Will they get their happily ever after? Or will their first white Christmas end in disaster and disappointment?

As a thank you for stopping by to read my ramblings, I’m giving away an e-copy of Her First White Christmas to one commenter.

Happy Holidays everyone!

Liia J

Liia’s prize will be drawn on Friday, so get in quick with your comments!

5 thoughts on “How Liia-Ann White’s Goals Turned To Christmas…

  1. Liia-Ann:

    Congratulations on setting and achieving your goals!
    Her First White Christmas sounds like a really great read — and the cover is gorgeous. 🙂

    Best of luck to you.

I love comments...

