The Lucky 7 Meme

Superauthor Nicola Marsh tagged me on her blog for The Lucky 7 Meme Game and I can never resist things like this, so here goes 🙂

The Lucky 7 Meme Rules

■Go to page 77 of your current MS/WIP
■Go to line 7
■Copy down the next 7 lines–sentences or paragraphs–and post them as they’re written. No cheating.
■Tag 7 authors
■Let them know

So here’s mine from MAN DROUGHT  my current work-in-progress, which I hope to submit soon. Like JILTED it’s semi-rural romance! I chose the seven para (short ones) option, because I didn’t want to tease you with only seven lines 🙂 Hope you enjoy…

‘Are you sleeping with her?’

Charlie’s direct question threw him and he almost lost control of the ute as he careened round the corner of a paddock. He stopped alongside a fence that really needed to be replaced and turned to his granddad. ‘No.’

‘Oh really?’ Charlie raised his eyebrows and his forehead creased in the way it always had when he’d known Gibson was lying as a child. He’d never got away with fudging the truth to Charlie.

‘It was just once,’ he admitted, discomfort forming a ball in his gut at the fact he was talking sex with is granddad.

Charlie swore and slammed his hand on the dashboard. Gibson flinched.

‘I expected more of you than that. We’re not quick, wham-bam-thank-you-mam types of men. Us Blacks treat women right.’

‘Granddad,’ Gibson spoke loudly to interrupt Charlie’s tirade. ‘She doesn’t want it again.’ And he didn’t blame her the way he’d acted. Although she’d been as hot for him as he’d been for her, he hadn’t treated her right. He should have thought things through. Maybe if he’d taken the time to woo her, taken her to a bed at least, she would have had time to come to her senses.

TAG YOUR IT:
Becca J Heath
Jackie Ashenden
Leah Ashton
Cathryn Hein
Joanne Dannon
Maisey Yates
Robyn Thomas
Fiona Lowe
Scarlet Wilson
Coleen Kwan

Whoops – forgive me, that’s WAY more than seven. I never was very good with numbers 🙂 Cannot wait to see what you ladies come up with!

6 thoughts on “The Lucky 7 Meme

  1. i’m sure your publisher will love your submission if those few paragraphs are anything to go by! Looking forward to reading Jilted too

  2. Lovely seven paragraphs, Rach! I ADORE the name Gibson, and that scene has already made me fall a little in love with him 🙂 Can’t wait to read it!

    Thanks for tagging me, too – I’ve had a go at the meme on my blog, too 🙂

I love comments...

