Don’t judge a book by…

It’s cover of course!!

I got my cover art sheet for STAND-IN STAR (my next Carina Press release, scheduled for 1/1/13) this week and it got me thinking that maybe there might be some people out there who’d like to read about the cover experiences I’ve had for my books. When I do talks or simply chat about my book to friends or customers in our shop, I’m asked a lot about the cover!

  • Do I know the lady on the front?
  • Did I design the cover myself?
  • How much input did I get?

The answers:  I have no idea who the woman on the front is and I didn’t get any say in the design process.

They are usually HUGELY surprised when I say that for JILTED, I didn’t see the cover until it was FINAL! Within seconds of my publisher sending it to me, I’d forwarded it onto my best writing buddies so they could SQUEE over it with me. I’ve been lucky so far in that I’ve been blessed by the cover fairies with two fabulous covers – here’s hoping the good luck continues.

I guess because I’ve been pursuing publication for a long time, I’ve learnt a fair bit about the industry and come to accept that things like covers are not the author’s domain. I’m more than happy to trust my publishers to choose the right cover for my book!

With my Carina Press books however, I do have input so far in as I have to fill in an Art Cover-Sheet with info about how I see the tone of my book, characters, etc. For anyone interested, I’ll come back and talk more about this process tomorrow.

In the meantime, I have to know… What do YOU like to see on a cover?! What makes you pick up a book straight away? What turns you off?

10 thoughts on “Don’t judge a book by…

  1. I do like a book cover to give me a feel of what’s inside. A gorgeous guy with his denims low slung on Jilted would definitely not be the same thing as your present cover. It might be nice but even without having read the book it might send the wrong impression of the type of book.

  2. For a moment I thought you were going to show us the cover for STAND-IN STAR! I’d be interested to hear more about the design process, and I’d love to discover – do the models on the covers know that they’re going to be on a book cover?! Imagine walking into a bookstore and seeing yourself on a book and not knowing anything about it before! (good if its a good book, not so good if its a shoddy one!)
    Looking forward to seeing the next cover 😉

    • LOL Juliet – unfortunately I think that’ll be a few months off. That is a good question re the models. I will ask my Harlequin publisher when I have her on my blog soon.

  3. I think it depends on what you feel like reading at the time 🙂
    Right now I’m into the country /outback romance novels so I think Jilted is perfect for what it is and you know what you are going to get – a pretty, relatable country girl on the cover, with a typical Aussie sunset and windmill, straight away you get an idea of what it’s about…
    I think I like also a glimpse of the main guy character as well though – helps you connect with the character if you have an image to go with the description.
    Personally I always read the little extracts on the cover – ie The Heartbreaker of Hope Junction is back…. That has to be enough to catch your eye 🙂

    • Ooh I’m so glad you’re into country/outback novels, Sara 🙂 I agree with you about the main guy character too – I was actually a bit surprised when Harlequin didn’t put the hero on the cover of JILTED as well, but I think it’s because most books in the genre currently only have the heroine. And like you, I LOVE taglines – I was so pleased with the heartbreaker one on Jilted 🙂

  4. I always struggle with that warning (not the judge by a book’s cover). Aesthetics are too hard to ignore! If the design is boring, or cheap, or gaudy, then I’ll wonder why the book didn’t get the right attention. THEN I’ll realise that I’ve walked passed it, and turn around to read the blurb and first few pages, and judge from the writing! But it’s hard. It’s like trying not to judge a movie by which actors are in it!
    Jilted is one of the nicest romance covers I’ve ever seen, and I’m not just saying that. The colours are beautiful, the woman looks comfortable and casual, and the windmill adds character. Very lucky Rach, but considering the story inside, very appropriate and well deserved 🙂
    Madeline x

    • Don’t worry Madeline, I think MOST people judge a book by it’s cover. I’m ashamed (or not, not sure which) to say that I most definitely do too!! And thanks re JILTED – I was so very pleased when I first laid eyes on it and I still simply adore it!!

I love comments...

