Romance is for everyone with Robyn Thomas (and a give-away)!

Today I have VERY special guest Robyn Thomas, newly published Entangled Indulgence author and also fellow Sassy Sister. Robyn offers a very funny take on how to deal with those people who feel they simply MUST mock romance!

Take it away Robyn…

Please bear with me as I drag my soapbox to centre stage. Why? I was recently faced with the following comments: romance novels are all the same.

Uh, no, they certainly aren’t all the same. It’s a bit like claiming all people are the same! Some have similarities, but often it’s the nuances of a person (or book) that make them special and unique.

Yes, that’s all well and good, but all romances follow the pattern of boy meets girl, boy loses girl, boy wins girl back and they live happily ever after.

Once again that’s incorrect. Romance covers a wide variety of genres and not all contain a boy and a girl, let alone follow that simplistic formula.  Even when they do it’s more complex, and often it’s the heroine who loses her man and has to work to get him back.

But all the characters are gorgeous and wealthy and successful. It’s unrealistic.

Okay, seriously, have you read a romance since 1978? Characters can be rich or poor, jaded or naïve, stunning or (at first glance) ordinary. They can – and should – be flawed. It’s one of the things that make them accessible to readers.

Every romance has a secret or accidental baby. Can’t someone teach these characters about safe sex?

A good story is often closer to reality than you might think. Not all birth control methods are failsafe, and in books (as in life) they’re not always employed as diligently as they could be. Sometimes there are other priorities in the heat of the moment!

It’s also worth noting that there are thousands of romances without babies, pregnancies or children.

It’s all hot sex and questionable morals, and I don’t like to read about that kind of thing.

Once again there’s something for all tastes. If you want hot sex then it’s available, up to and including erotica, but you also have a wide range of other choices. Deciding which heat level you find acceptable, and reading only that, shouldn’t prove difficult. If you’re new to romance then you might want to start with something that’s fairly sweet – let the cover and blurb guide you – and then you can progress from there.

Whatever! Now I can have an interesting book with realistic characters, without children if I choose, and at the heat level I want… but there’s no point reading when you know how it’s going to end before you start.

Oh, I see. Now I understand. If you’re against the idea of a happy ending then I’m going to stop arguing with you. Perhaps you do actually belong to the extremely small minority of people for whom romance novels are a bad idea. Wow, so you’re what a non-romance-reader looks like? Everyone else who has ever begun that argument has given up and converted part way through, but you’re particularly stubborn. No romance novels for you! Unless…

*speculates about the possibility of including you in a future book… a circumstance you could’ve avoided but chose not to.  Like I said earlier, romance is for everyone. 🙂

That was fabulous Robyn, as I’m sure we’ve all dealt with someone like that at least once before. For those who are hooked on Robyn’s writing from that tiny snippet, why not try her debut romance HIS UNEXPECTED FAMILY.

Sometimes you have to take the leap…again.

Newly widowed with a new baby, Ren Jamieson is putting her life back together after her thrill-seeking husband’s death. But when she’s called to show a high-end property to a prospective client—a commission she desperately needs—she meets a man who makes her pulse pound like nothing she’s ever known…

Cole Matthews is more than he seems. Real estate is only part of the reason he’s in Australia – the other is to see Ren, and make amends somehow for the life lost. The last thing Cole expects is a woman whose humor, sweetness and sexiness give him a rush greater than any he’s ever experienced…

Torn between her growing feelings for Cole and the risks of loving yet another adventurer, Ren will have to choose between keeping her feet on the ground…and taking the most dangerous leap of her life.

His Unexpected Family is available from Barnes & Noble and Amazon

 

For more information on Robyn Thomas, please visit her website http://www.robynthomasromance.com/ or follow her on Twitter https://twitter.com/robynsromance and Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6450177.Robyn_Thomas.

 

Entangled have generously offered a copy of Robyn’s book to one lucky reader! To go in the draw, answer this question:

What is the most annoying question a non-romance reader has ever asked you about romance books!?

Please leave a comment by Friday midnight, Australian Western Standard time to be in the draw.

23 thoughts on “Romance is for everyone with Robyn Thomas (and a give-away)!

  1. I don’t have an annoying question, but I sure do have something that annoys me!
    The thing that always gets me is that women I know declare they’ve never read a romance. Then they go on to tell me about recent books they’ve read: Twilight (ugh!), books by Nora Roberts and Linda Howard, heaps of books by Harlequin imprints. And so on. And so on.
    I don’t know whether to laugh at them or bash my head against the nearest concrete surface.

  2. All the very, very best Robyn with your release! Most annoying romance genre question – what formula do you follow? Arrgh!!

    Melissa:)

  3. I must admit I’ve rarely heard negative comments about romance. Everyone I speak to seems intrigued. Makes me feel like I enjoy something completely exotic!

    I did have a golf partner once regard me with total astonishment when I told him I wrote romance then ask with delightful wide-eyed naivety, “There’s money in that?”

    Wishing you great success with His Unexpected Family, Robyn. It sounds like a wonderful book. As for that sensual cover, ooh la la!

  4. Hi Robyn!
    Congrats on your release! Wishing you tremendous succes with His Unexpected Family!
    annoying questions… what about whjen will i try to write a real book? Grrr….
    =)

  5. Hi Robyn

    Congrats on your release and also a fab blog post.

    Yesterday I had a hearty discussion with friends about 50 Shades and Romance Writing. I was very happy to explain how romances work – HEA and character arcs 🙂

    I get frustrated with non-romance readers who ‘sniff’ at the line and mutter something along the lines of “formulaic”. I try to ignore these comments. If they don’t love romance (like me) that’s fine and besides, they’ve made up their minds – too hard to deabte with them.

    All the best with HUF – what a lovely cover 🙂

    **Beck – LOL

    Cheers, Joanne

    • Hi Joanne, your hearty discussion sounds like an interesting one! I’ve recently had the benefit of hearing my hubby leap up and defend romance novels, and I think of him now when someone starts muttering about formulas. (He only reads non fiction, but it’s surprising what he’s picked up about writing romance.)

      And you’re right. Less debating means more time for writing!

  6. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be
    book-marking and checking back frequently!

  7. Magnificent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are
    just extremely fantastic. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it.

    You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise.
    I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is really a
    great site.

I love comments...

