An evening with Monica McInerney!!

First things first I want to TOTALLY apologise for forgetting to get a photo taken with the lovely Monica, I was too busy talking to her about the time she came on my blog last Dec πŸ™‚

So, yes, last night, I made the 1.5 hour trek to Perth for the sole purpose of hearing Monica McInerney talk about her new book The House of Memories. I went as a reader (because I’ve loved all of her books, especially Lola’s Secret) and as a writer (because I’m always interested to hear about another author’s process – writing, research, ideas, etc). I wasn’t disappointed on either front!

Monica is just delightful – she was very warm and very real as she introduced herself. I wasn’t planning on taking notes but couldn’t help taking down a few snippets from the evening, which I’d love to share with you. In no particular order:

  • When dreaming up The House of Memories Monica thought about what her greatest fear was in life and then wrote about that.
  • She always asks What If questions when she’s writing.
  • A quote that could be at the beginning of all her books is ”No family can hang out the sign – Nothing Is The Matter Here.” Love that! She says that’s why she’ll always find writing about families (and researching them) fascinating.
  • Her characters become her work-collegues and she mourns them when the book is finished πŸ™‚
  • She likes to keep her books balanced – in The House of Memories (which she says is a sad book), for every sad chapter there was a fun chapter. She needed the respite!
  • Writing a book is like being a film director.
  • Reading books is how she learnt about the world.
  • Margaret River and Antarctica are the only two places she’s written about but never been to!
  • For Monica, writing a book is all about day-dreaming.
  • She cried while writing The House of Memories and loves hearing from readers who cried reading it!
  • Writing & reading is SO intertwined.
  • Writer = walking compost bins.

I had a fabulous evening and was brave enough to give Monica a copy of JILTED at the end of it. I hope she enjoys my book as much as I’ve enjoyed hers.

In short, she is a lovely person and a fabulous writer and when I grow up I want to be Monica McInerney!!

34 thoughts on “An evening with Monica McInerney!!

  1. Awesome recap Rach! Yes, she did love that I bawled my eyes out reading this book, she said it meant that she’d done her job. It’s the sign of a wonderfully written book when it can make you feel that much! I’ve been talking to my husband about it ever since I finished it. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on The House of Memories x

  2. It was lovely meeting Monica and yourself, Rach. Monica’s talk was so inspiring. My only regret was not having a photo taken of the three of us 😦 When I got home I read the first 3 chapters of ‘The House of Memories’ I didn’t want to put it down, but I needed sleep.

  3. Ooh, thanks for this, Rach. I am so jealous you had the opportunity to not only hear Monica but to meet her. And that list is fascinating!

    I’m sure she’ll love Jilted as much as everyone else has.

  4. Sounds like you had a great time, and I never thought of myself as a compost bin before!
    Thanks for the recap, it’s brave of Monica to write about what she fears. I think I fear writing about something I fear! πŸ˜‰
    Glad you gave her a copy of your book, she would have appreciated that.
    πŸ™‚

    • Oh I wish I’d known you didn’t know. The only reason I knew was a friend saw it because it was held at her local library and she told me about it. Would have been great to catch up with you as well! But as a writer, I’m going to try and go to as many as these kinds of things as possible because I find it fascinating listening to other authors’ processes!

  5. So very jealous, Rach!! Sounds like a wonderful evening. I too have the complete set of Monica’s books and adore every one of them. She’s such a lovely person and a talented writer πŸ™‚

I love comments...

