A look back on 2012 goals!

As I’ve said in previous years, I write goals (to do with writing) each year and don’t make resolutions. I feel goals are more likely to be achieved as they really give me something to work towards. My goals are more concrete than resolutions and it’s obvious looking back whether I have achieved them or not.

Last December I made the below goals – in PINK I’ll let you know how I went with them:

1) Finish rewriting Hollywood Heartbreak and sub to Carina Press. – Check! This book has since been retitled as STAND-IN STAR which releases January 7th. 
2) Finish my new Single Title – MAN DROUGHT – edit and sub. – Check! I subbed this book in May and received and offer for it and another book in June. It officially releases tomorrow but there’ve already been sightings out in shops 🙂
3) Write the second in my Hollywood series (hopefully by the time I start, I’ll know whether the first has been sold). Didn’t happen. When I got the two book contract from Harlequin Australia, I had to focus on that first.

4) Write a novella – this is something that has always terrified me, so I’m going to read lots of them before attempting one. It’ll either be a themed seasonal novella or one linked to Man Drought that can maybe be a free promo. – Check! Finished this yesterday actually. It’s called THE KISSING SEASON and hopefully will be available next festive season.

5) Read more (it’s ALWAYS on my list). – I read 54 books in 2012. I have a feeling this is less than last year. Certainly felt like I had a lot less reading time 😦
6) Re-do my website. – Check! The fabulous Paula Roe did this for me in April. If you haven’t checked it out yet, you can do so here.
7) Publish my non-fiction book BREASTFEEDERS ANONYMOUS on Amazon.  – Check! Or rather my fabulous mum did this. If you’d like to check it out click here

9 thoughts on “A look back on 2012 goals!

  1. Fantastic work, Rachael. I love that you have kept the list so you can evaluate your goals at the end of the year. I’m just about to pen my writing goals for 2013. You’ve given me some inspiration to set specific goals and really go for them. Thanks for your help and support this year 🙂

I love comments...

