Goals for 2013

As I mentioned on the last day of 2012, I like to write down my writing goals each year. I’ve been doing this for a few years now and it amazes me what happens when I actually set concrete goals. Last year, I achieved all bar one of my goals, which was to read more.

This year I’ve got a shorter goal list but no doubt things will crop up along the year. So, here’s my list for 2013 – will check back again at the end of the year to see how I’ve done:

1) Finish the next book in my “Outback” series and begin the third book. Submit the first book.

2) Write another novella or short romance and/or the second in my Carina Press Hollywood series. Submit.

3) Read at least two books a week!

So, what are your goals for 2013? If you’ve blogged about them, link in comments and I’ll check them out, otherwise feel free to hijack my comments section to list your goals.

27 thoughts on “Goals for 2013

  1. Awesome! I’m thinking of setting some writing goals this year. I’m so frightened of not being good enough, but I guess I’ve just got to get started.

    I was thinking I would do more baby steps, like starting with a genre. Then a premise. Then a storyline. Etc. I would do a screenplay/tv series rather than book. But same sheer terror when I think about showing anyone.

    Help! x

    • I hear ya on the FEAR! I am constantly scared about not being good enough. I guess the fact is to many people i probably AM NOT good enough but then again, there’s also lots of readers who write and tell me they love my books, so it’s worth the risk. GO for it, I reckon! From what I read of your online book, I LOVED it!!!
      xo
      Rach!

    • Start small, Rebecca! A shopping list, perhaps, which you put on the fridge. Then a note about the cat. Ease yourself into sharing the writing with the world!

      Seriously, though, if you’re terrified, maybe don’t start with trying to work out genre and so on first. Just jump in and write a scene. Stick a character on a page and give them a problem and see what they do. I used to be completely paralysed with THE FEAR and I still suffer from it sometimes, but I have found the best way out is just to write. One word in front of the other. And when I was new at overcoming the fear, I did it without planning, as the more planning I did, the more frightened I got. The resulting novel wasn’t very well structured, it’s true, but at least it got finished. And that led to the next one, which (eventually) sold. Take a leaf out of Aragorn’s book (below), only replacing ‘fight’ at the end, with ‘write’. And good luck! Lord knows we could do with more good TV!

  2. Oh and Rachael? Still working on the goal list, but when I’ve got it on the blog I’ll let you know! πŸ˜‰ Best of luck with yours, although with your work ethic, I don’t think you’ll need luck!

    • Great words of wisdom there for my lovely cousin, Imelda. She already rocks as a writer but she just wants to expand her audiences!! Thanks re the goals. Am feeling exhausted atm but I find having goals makes me more likely to achieve SOMETHING πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Rachael, I haven’t as yet set any goals, and I should have them written down. I know what I want to achieve, but I have to be realistic so I guess it’s complete two more romantic suspense novels for the year. Get my current NaNo one through it’s last draft, and submit or perhaps self publish one of them.
    My ladder of goals has only a few more steps so anything past that is a bonus. πŸ™‚

  4. You have goals? I forgot to do that!
    At the moment my priority is to speak better Ukrainian by May so I don’t look like a dunce when I go back. For some completely insane reason only a Soviet could understand, they taught everyone in Ukraine and Russia etc. German in schools and nobody knows any English!
    Because my year’s being broken in half by this 1.5 month trip, I should probably get organised with goals and whatnot!

  5. My first goal is to get through January! I have uni assignments, exams and oh yes, first edits due from publisher on my first ever book. I might think about the years goals in Feb. πŸ™‚

  6. I just LOVE seeing Viggo Mortensen (sp?) on a blog. Any blog. I am so inspired now! And that scene in the movie is just stirring! For Rebecca, the fear won’t ever go away I think. I’ve read so many authors who say it’s a constant alternation between pride and self-doubt. I call it the Positivity Train – you’ve just got to get on and go for it. One thing that helped me in 2012 was starting a blog – even though I didn’t have many FB friends (actually I wasn’t on FB when I started the blog) – and I didn’t tell people about the blog for quite some time. But blogging helped me get over some of the fear of people seeing what I was doing/writing. Gradually, gradually, it helped build up my confidence about just ‘getting out there’.
    Good luck with achieving everything you want in 2013 Rach and thanks for the post.

  7. Well done on achieving you goals last year, Rach, and for setting new ones for 2013!!

    Have to agree with Lily that writers seem to suffer from self doubts more than most…

    One of the great things about the internet is realising we’re all in this together! ‘Terminal Uniqueness’ is a term we use in flying for when people assume they are the only ones having difficulties with a sequence when the reality is we all have to work through the same issues.

    Love the scene from Lord of the Rings, Imelda πŸ™‚

      • I love that too, Helene! Partly the expression, but also that it exists. I remember it being one of the big epiphanies of my life that actually, no, it WASN’T just me. It’s a great comfort, and I never tire of hearing that other people suffer from the same fear and setbacks that I do. Makes it all seem so much more manageable.

        Glad you like the scene. It’s a great bit of writing and fabulous work from both man and horse to deliver it. I believe the rearing at the end was unscripted, just the horse getting into the spirit of the thing. See, when you put the work in, others come to help you create an effect! πŸ˜‰ Best of luck to everyone with their goals!

  8. I’d like to ge through at least 2 books a month, lol! Actually, I’d love to aim for one a week, but I’m a slow reader (because my mind keeps thinking of writing while I’m reading!).

    Good luck with your goals!

  9. I just posted my own goals on my blog as well! I agree, I find that I feel much more obligated to at least work toward achieving my goals once they’ve been made public. Two books a week is so ambitious. I admire you for that and wish you luck! I also noticed that many bloggers who’ve shared their writing goals often have the number one goal as “Finish my (insert name of work in progress here).” Mine is as well. I’ll be sending positive vibes your way as I struggle to finish my novel and work through the submissions process! Happy writing!

I love comments...

