My Secret Life with Alissa Callen!

 Today I’d like to give a warm welcome to my long-time writing buddy Alissa Callen. We’ve been crit partners and just general encouragers for a fair few years now, so much so that I’ve totally forgotten how we actually “met” in the first place! Anyway, Alissa is not only an all-round lovely person but a fabulous writer and I’m so excited to read her new books, of which I’ve read snippets over the last few years. 

Congrats again Alissa and welcome to My Secret Life!

300 mel full 3 w

I have a confession to make … I need to get a life… a non-writing one that is.

In a perfect world there would be no hip-high piles of washing to do, no grumpy cow to shoo out of the orchard again and definitely no such thing as meals to be cooked. But luckily it isn’t a perfect world and have a family to take care of as well as a menagerie of animals to look after. Because can get slightly attached to the keyboard and lose track of time as well as which child is going to which afternoon sport, this year I must ensure that life retains a little more balance. So cue a belated to-do New Year’s resolution list.

So in 2013, when am not writing, I aim to do the following things:

Take Mini Farmer, Little Farmer, Farmer Boy, Farmer Girl (and especially Big Farmer) off the farm to remind them there is a world beyond the front gate. We are very fortunate to have a host of national parks within a two hour radius. Coolah Tops is a favourite as well as the Warrumbungles.  You can never have enough fire-roasted marshmallows or fun family photos.

IMGP2704

(Rach: I absolutely LOVE this pic Alissa!)

To tackle the garden, even in snake season.  My garden is like painting the Sydney Harbour Bridge – when you eventually arrive back at the place you started, it is in need of TLC again.

IMGP3415

To read more. My TBR pile resembles the leaning Tower of Pisa.

To cook more. All those recipes I rip out of magazines or copy from friends need to make it into the oven and not onto another teetering pile.

And finally to take more time to sit on the veranda, pat the dogs and enjoy the smiles on my children’s faces.

Thanks so much Rach for having me 🙂 Am off to see what recipe is on the top of my ‘to-cook-before-next-millennium’ pile – have a feeling it is your yummy White Christmas Crackle recipe that never got to at Christmas!

It was my absolute pleasure to have you Melissa and I really recommend that everyone download your books. Blurbs below 🙂

What Love Sounds Like out January 10 with Escape Publishing:

Outback speech pathologist, Mia Windsor, believes her morning from hell is over. Then suited-up, city-boy Kade Reid strides into her office and announces he and his wide-eyed niece are the clients that she will be living with for the fortnight.

Kade Reid adheres to a single edict — money is as important as breathing. But when he becomes an instant father to four-year-old Tilly, he escapes to the only place he was allowed to be a child…the family property of Berrilea. 

As Mia and Kade work together to help Tilly overcome her speech delay, can they face their fears in order to give Tilly the family she so desperately needs?

 Beneath Outback Skies will be a launch title for the new digital-first Random Romance list of Random House on February 1st: 

A captivating rural romance featuring an indomitable young woman determined to save her family farm, and the city-boy who is not all he seems…

Paige Quinn will let nothing and no one distract her from caring for her crippled father, Connor, and fighting for her remote, drought-stricken property, Banora Downs. Least of all a surprise farm-stay guest named Tait Cavanaugh, whose smooth words are as lethal as his movie-star smile. 

Except Paige can’t help noticing that, for a city-boy, Tait seems unexpectedly at home on the land. And he does ask a lot of questions…

It doesn’t matter how much he helps out or how much laughter he brings into her life, she soon suspects he is harbouring a big secret – the real reason he has come to Banora Downs…

You can find Alissa at her website and also on Facebook.

12 thoughts on “My Secret Life with Alissa Callen!

  1. Hi Alissa, I have just finiehed What Love Sounds Like and…(drum roll here)…It was an engrossing and heartwarming story. I think that no matter how hard a shell people build around themselves, the right person can bring i down.

  2. Hi Alissa,

    you know I’m already a fan! =)

    Nice to learn a bit more about you and I’m so glad I’m not the only one who is always striving to play catch up!! BTW Love that family photo!!

I love comments...

