My Secret Life with Juliet Madison

Today it’s with absolute pleasure I welcome debut author Juliet Madison to my My Secret Life segment. Juliet’s first book FAST FORWARD came out only yesterday with Escape Publishing. I can’t quite recall when I first “met” Juliet – although I know the first time I met her in person was at an RWA conferences – but she can probably remember. Why? Cos she doesn’t drink Diet Coke and so her memory is probably a lot better than mine!

Anyway, I was lucky enough to read one of her manuscripts in a writing contest and then I “met” her and critiqued the synopsis of FAST FORWARD for her. I absolutely loved the concept and Juliet’s fun and humorous voice shone through even in the synopsis! I cannot wait to read the novel in full! 

But it’s not me you’re here to “listen to” so without further rambling, here is the new author extraordinaire herself:

JulietMadison

Do You Have The Creative Curse?

The desire to be creative is something I can’t escape. Since childhood I’ve been fascinated by the concept of ‘making something out of nothing’; turning a blank page into art, or expressing myself through the written word. I love the inspired energy that comes with it, the creative process, and the rewarding outcome. When I’m being creative, I’m being ME.

I’ve always loved a good story so it’s no wonder I discovered a passion for writing fiction myself, even if it did take until my thirties to figure it out! But before then, my creative muse was fed by other means. I still wrote in some form or other throughout my life – poetry got me through the turbulent emotions of adolescence, and I’m pretty proud of my eight year old self’s illustrated short story ‘The Secret Coffin’, but my creative urges resulted mostly in drawings and artworks. You could never leave a blank piece of paper lying around near me, it would soon become a fairy sitting in a magical tree, or a catwalk-worthy fashion design of my own creation (well maybe not catwalk-worthy, but I probably thought so back then!).

Needless to say, art was my favourite subject at school. I went onto art studies after leaving school too, and continued experimenting with different artforms and mediums. One of my favourite things to do was draw portraits of my favourite celebrities. Here are a couple of them – a young-looking Johhny Depp:

JohnnyDeppDrawing-JM

And Janet Jackson (who also inspired my love of dance):

JanetJacksonDrawing-JM

I don’t draw very often nowadays, but recently tried my hand at creating canvas wall art. The purpley-red swirling design is titled ‘The Vortex’. I hope to create more wall art when I get the chance, but time seems to be going faster these days and I find myself preferring the creative expression of writing.

TheVortex-JM

Before I got into writing seriously, my other creative pursuit was dancing. I did a bit of ballet as a child but mostly taught myself to dance growing up; making up dance routines to Madonna in front of the bedroom mirror (hands up if you did that too – I can’t be the only one!). I did the odd dance class here and there, but got into it seriously when I was accepted into a dance show in Sydney when I was nineteen. After the thrill of performing I started going to classes in contemporary dance and ballet, and after I had my son I joined a new class especially for adults where I met other mums and was eventually asked to teach some of the classes. I taught, attended classes, choreographed, and performed in local concerts for about five years and that time holds many great memories for me. Dance was an emotional expression in physical form, and I loved how it created something that was visually appealing and interesting to watch. After leaving the dance world to focus on my health career for a few years, I then left my health career to homeschool my son and begin my amazing journey into the writing industry…

I love the power of words and the power of the imagination to create characters and weave a story together. Through writing I can experience everything I’ve wanted to experience. I can, in a way, dance through the written word, and create an enriching sensory and emotional experience both for myself and (hopefully) the reader.

Some of my characters have creative talents and hobbies too, I can’t help but bring my experience into their lives. I have a character who is a stay-at-home mother trying to find time for drawing and painting and make money from her passion, and I have another character who has a creative gift in playing and composing on the piano. Kelli, the main character in my debut novel FAST FORWARD (just released – yay!) has a creative gift in design that she’s been suppressing ever since a traumatic childhood experience. Through her journey in the story she’ll have to come to terms with her past in order to be the person she was meant to be.

Whether it’s through art, dance, poetry, or fiction writing, doing something creative is a NEED for me. Almost a curse in a sense, but a good curse to have 🙂

Do you have the creative curse? Tell me about the creative pursuits you enjoy or would like to enjoy, and you could win a $50 or $25 Amazon gift card. Plus, if you purchase my debut novel FAST FORWARD and forward me the receipt you’ll get an extra entry!

Here’s the blurb for FAST FORWARD:

FASTFORWARD-JulietMadison

Aspiring supermodel Kelli Crawford seems destined to marry her hotshot boyfriend, but on her 25th birthday she wakes in the future as a fifty-year-old suburban housewife married to the now middle-aged high school nerd.

Trapped in the opposite life of the one she wanted, Kelli is forced to re-evaluate her life and discover what is really important to her. Will she overcome the hilarious and heartbreaking challenges presented to her and get back to the body of her younger self? Or will she be stuck in the nightmare of hot flushes, demanding children, raunchy advances from her husband, and hideous support underwear forever?

Buy now from your preferred online ebook retailer, or through the publisher at: www.escapepublishing.com.au

To buy from:

AmazonEscape PublishingiTunes Bookstore or Kobo Books

And HERE’S A GIVEAWAy!!!

Prize: First prize of a $50 Amazon gift card, second prize of a $25 Amazon gift card.

How to enter: Leave a comment about the creative pursuits you enjoy or would like to enjoy. Get an extra entry in the draw by purchasing Fast Forward and forwarding* your receipt to fastforwardbook(at)gmail(dot)com

(*remove (at) and (dot) and replace with @ and . This email address is only for the competition and not for enquiries)

Terms: Open worldwide. Winners drawn at the conclusion of Juliet’s February blog tour and notified via email. Winners have one week to respond or new winners will be chosen. Good luck!

Thank you Rachael for having me on your blog today!

You are ABSOLUTELY welcome Juliet! Everyone be sure to enter Juliet’s contest AND buy Fast Forward because I KNOW it’s going to be an awesome read!!

33 thoughts on “My Secret Life with Juliet Madison

  1. You have so many wonderful talents!
    In common with my husband, the creator of the Grand Organ in the Concert Hall of the Sydney Opera House, I love to participate in cultural and artistic endeavours.
    In the past few years, I’ve written seven books: mostly collections of Short Stories: and the latest one will soon be released on Amazon. My other pursuits include playing the piano and piano accordion, painting in watercolours, dancing and swimming. I’m including the latter as it has created a reputation: strangers know me as the lady who swims up and down the length of the baths every day from October till May. 🙂

  2. I wish I was a creative person but so not. I love to sew and cook but need patterns and recipes. I so love creative people to help us less fortunate in that category. Looking forward to reading your book, Fast Forward. Which I bought last night on amazon.

  3. HI Juliet – congratulations on the release of Fast Forward. Dancing in front of the mirror to Madonna featured heavily in my adolescence. I went on to promote one of her concert tours in the early nineties (didn’t get to meet her unfortunately, but sat in the VIP section at Wembley Stadium). I loved dancing as a kid but my mother insisted I study music not dancing. I’ve been a frustrated, untrained ballerina every since. But I can play Bach, Beethoven and Mozart if pushed. Hope Fast Forward sells like crazy!!

  4. Great post, Rach! Juliet, I love your creative life, especially your art (Johnny Depp is to die for) It’s great to see your book out, and I’m just waiting to find some quiet time to read it. When I was young, I loved ballet, tap dancing and cross-stitch. I’m starting to learn to draw, but in the meanwhile, I have reading and writing to keep me happy 🙂

  5. Congrats on the release of FF – it sounds fab. I love the idea of your heroine seeing herself in years to come. I guess many of us would love this opportunity 😉 It sounds like a fun read 🙂

    You’re very talented. I like the pic of Johnny Depp – reminds me of my crush on him in the 80s and *ahem* …. now 😀

    • Thanks Joanne, I think I would die of shock if I jumped ahead 25 years! But definitely makes for some interesting plot events in fiction 😉
      Good ol’ Johnny, just gets better with age 🙂

  6. Juliet, congrats on your debut release. Fast Forward sounds like a fun read.
    I also liked dabbling in drawing and painting in my younger years. More recently I did a mixed media course which was great fun. I wish I had more time nowadays for art.

  7. LOL to the diet coke reference Rachael! But for some reason I can’t seem to remember ‘exactly’ when we met. It’s like we’ve just always known each other! I do remember you from twitter and Romaus though, so must have grown from there, and of course meeting in person at RWA conference. Thanks for hosting me today, I enjoyed raving on about my creative curse!

  8. OK, now I officially hate you 🙂 I already knew you were gorgeous, a talented writer and the nicest person – and now I find out you can draw AND dance! Hmmppfff!

    Congrats again on the release of Fast Forward – I just know this is the start of something big 🙂

    • LOL Kez! If it helps, I haven’t danced or drawn in ages! (So maybe I’ve lost the abilities, lol. Guess we’ll find out at RWA Conf – aren’t we having dancing this year?)
      Thanks, definitely feels like the start of something great 🙂

  9. Hi Juliet, just bought your book and loving the cover! I remember it from one of the pitch competition’s for entangled – it stuck in my brain! Looking forward to reading it!

  10. Blogging is about as creative as I get! I do try and make cards but it really isn’t my passion. I enjoy doing it in a group of people but don’t often get all the stuff out at home despite the fact that I have spent a lot of money on equipment over the years!

    • Hi Marg, thanks for dropping by. Blogging can certainly be creative 🙂 It sounds like fun to do card making with a group of people, I might try it sometime! Hope you get to make use of your equipment 🙂

  11. I don’t think I have the creative curse but you definitely do! It is amazing how multi talented you are, the drawings are awesome.

  12. I enjoy hearing mire about an authors life and interests.
    Don’t give up your art either!
    the book sounds fun and interesting. Thanks for the giveaway.

  13. I love writing and cooking, and once in a while I’ll try painting or drawing (though I’m not great at that). Creativity is definitely a siren call!

  14. Creative thing I love to do is baking cakes and frost them so they look like masterpieces. I love fasterlavn (which are a danish tradition similar to halloween) because I have the chance to sew costumes. And I really love to make picture edits on the computer and to draw (even though I am no near your talent 😉 )
    something I would like to be a bit better at is playing the guitar 🙂
    Thank you for this giveaway 😀

I love comments...

