The week that was (and my reading round up)!

This week was one of those weeks where I really felt like an author – yes, probably even more so than when I sit in front of my computer and will witty and intelligent words to come. I went to four different libraries and talked about romance writing and my books, which was fitting considering this week held Valentines Day!

I cringed when my old teacher listened to me at Midland library, going on about how I didn’t really like English in high school and never read any of the books! I enjoyed meeting the gorgeous Natasha for the first time and the equally gorgeous Janine again at Bayswater library. And at Vic Park, I caught up with Brodee (gorgeous too, who happened to teach my oldest son a few years ago) and got the sweetest little gifts as thanks for attending. At Bayswater and Southern Cross I indulged in pink bubbly drinking, which I think is extremely fitting for a romance writer and in all the places, I spoke about my road to publication and how it was fifteen long years before I achieved my dream.

Everyone is always so happy and lovely at these events and I still marvel when people want ME to sing their copies of Man Drought and Jilted. I’ve had a few people say I must get sick of signing and can I just say I NEVER will!! Me and my pink pen will happily sign until my dying day! I’m so honoured to be doing a job that I absolutely love and that brings me to meet such fabulous readers along the way.

In Southern Cross I was met at the door with a bottle of ice-cold Diet Coke, so it seems my reputation proceeded me! And somewhere amongst all this travelling and book-talking, I managed to finish reading a couple of books.

This last week or so, I’ve read FAST FORWARD by Juliet Madison and THE ROSIE PROJECT by Graeme Simsion. Two totally different books but I enjoyed them both. They were both funny and clever in their own ways. While FAST FORWARD is about a model who is catapulted twenty-five years into the future (with hilarious predictions of what kind of things the future will hold), THE ROSIE PROJECT is about a geneticist with aspergers falling in love for the first time. My uncle is a geneticist and I swear some of the men in my family have aspergers traits, so I found this novel fascinating. I can’t recommend either of these books enough.

Next on my agenda is HOUSE FOR ALL SEASONS – a debut by my friend the lovely Jenn J McLeod and THE SUNBURNT COUNTRY by the gorgeous Fiona Palmer, another good friend. I feel so blessed to have met so many wonderful people through my writing. I reckon about 75% of the books I read now are by people I know and love!

So what are you reading this week?!

22 thoughts on “The week that was (and my reading round up)!

  1. I just finished both House For All Seasons and The Sunburnt Country last week and both were fabulous, you’ll enjoy them a lot I think.

    So wish you could do some library events over this side of the country! Sounds like all them were fantastic!

    • Reviewing is such an awesome job Bree – you get to read all the good books first 🙂 I would LOVE to come east for some author talks. I’m going to try make it happen next year. Have a release (OUTBACK BLAZE) June 2014 and am going to try for then. Remind me again, are you NSW or VIC?

  2. My mum’s cousin works at Bayswater library! But she doesn’t read a lot which I find a bit weird really!

    Anyway, I am rereading Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, and reading The Little Russian by Susan Sherman and The Long Way Home by Mariah Stewart.

    • Oh I wonder if I met her! Was two employees there – and my mind is totally lost on who they were. Tsk tsk. Neither of them were the one who I organised the talk with. I have Me Before You in the TBR pile and our book club is reading it next month, so I’ll get to it very soon. Really looking forward to it. I love Jojo Moyes books and this one everyone seems to rave about!

  3. Sounds like you had a fantastic week!
    Graeme Simsion held an author event at my local library on Valentines day and I went along and listened to him talk and got him to sign my copy of his book. I haven’t had a chance to read it yet, but everyone’s glowing about it when they talk about it and nobody can seem to recommend it enough, so I can’t wait to read it. His road to being published was kind of amazing to listen to him talk about as well!

    I’ve got ordered a copy of Fiona Palmer’s book and can’t wait for it to be released. I just finished reading an advanced readers copy of Rachael Herron’s new release “Cora’s Heart”. I highly recommend that one when its released next month 🙂

  4. It was great fun listening to you speak. I swear that English at school is torture! I hated it and used to quote entire Month Python sketches with my friend to my teacher’s disgust!
    I have just finished Beneath Outback Skies by Alissa Callen which was great. This week I think I’ll read one of the books I got for Christmas, still haven’t got through them!
    Mumblemightalsoturnmyhandtowritingsomethingtoomumble

  5. Not much reading this week as I have been editing second book. The week before I read Erica’s Choice by Samil Lee, boy can that girl write an erotic scene. I tell you… and A Taste of Chocolate by Vonnie Davis. Both were great and very different. I have Stand in Star on my Kindle, will have to get on it soon!

  6. Sounds like a great week Rachael. I’ve been procrastinating about contacting libraries to do talks but after reading your post I’ve moved it up on my to do list. I’m reading The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton. Lovely writing and an intriguing family story but looooonnnngggg! Next few books will be shorter so I can read more of them.

  7. Glad you enjoyed Fast Forward, Rach! Like you I’m going to be reading House For All Seasons. And The Rosie Project sounds interesting as I like to hear of anything to do with Asperger’s Syndrome.

  8. What a fabulous week, Rach, library visits are the best fun! I’m trying to make time to read House for All Seasons. Have managed to sneak about 50 pages and am loving it!! Look forward to reading The Sunburnt Country and also Blackwattle Lake!

    But first there’s pages to proof 🙂

I love comments...

