Knee deep in…

Edits! And writing a new book! And washing (but that’s always a given)!!

So, please accept my apologies for the silence on this blog. I promise I have some fabulous guests lined up over the next few weeks talking about their Secret Lives – or rather the things they do when they’re not writing!

But a quick update from me:

  • Outback Dreams (due to be released October 1st) is in the final stages of edits. I’m at the nitpicky stage were each sentence is analysed, deconstructed, pulled about and put back together to make it flow and read easier. At this stage I’m sure my poor editor must seriously start to get sick of the book šŸ™‚
  • Outback Blaze is well and truly started. I have written almost 20k words of the second book in my Bunyip Bay books. These books will be able to be read on their own but there is one small thread that carries through the three books and many of the characters feature in all three. This book is my first book where I’ve included an element of suspense and while I’m enjoying this IMMENSELY, it’s also a little terrifying. There’s a lot of police and fire protocol, which I’m hoping against hope I get right!

If you’re interested, you can check out my PINTEREST boards for both books here.

  • Reading – my goal of reading two books a week is failing dismally, or rather I am failing it. With so much editing and writing to do, I’m barely managing one book a week šŸ˜¦ But I recently finished Jenn J McLeod’s gorgeous House For All Seasons and I’m thoroughly enjoying Fiona Palmer’s The Sunburnt Country! Of course the TBR pile continues to grow because I cannot resist buying more and more.
  • Non-writing life – One of my best friends from school married an English boy and the rest of my friends from school (whom I’m still really close too) hadn’t seen her in five years, but she’s currently visiting Perth, so I’m making the most of that. Friday night the six of us (friends from school) had a high-school style slumber party, the first in almost fifteen years. We didn’t go to sleep till 4am and needless to say I’m STILL paying for it.

Anyway just wanted to say Hi and explain why my posts have been few and far between. Once OUTBACK DREAMS is officially off my hands, I’ll endeavour to pop in here more šŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Knee deep in…

  1. Congratulations on having your Outback books being picked up and Jilted by Harlequin US. When will I see it in stores here? 2013/2014/2015?

    This is going to sound extremely selfish (sorry!), but I’m glad you’re writing. That means there are more books for me to read! Now if only there was an easier way to get them. Both mighty ape and fishpond have turned out to be poor booksellers. = /

  2. The life of a published author, wife mother and daughters is always a busy one! As for reading two books a week, excuse me while I fall over laughing. I’m down to reading In Holidays and a book a month in term time. Sad but true!

I love comments...

