My Secret Life with Ros Baxter

Today I have the delightful Ros Baxter, whose book FISH OUT OF WATER just released with Escape Publishing. I have got this book on my Kindle and I must admit, it sounds like a hoot!! I’m so intrigued to read a book written about a mermaid!!! And the fact that it’s a romance is just so much better!

I met Ros (don’t know if she remembers) at the RWA conference on the Gold Coast last year – she had recently had her fourth child (I KNOW – I thought three was full-on) baby and the delightful little cherub was making lots of people smile all over the conference. 

Anyway… I’ll stop rambling and let Ros give you a little insight into what she gets up to when she’s not writing. Don’t forget to read the blurb for FISH OUT OF WATER at the end!

Welcome Ros…

ros

Secrets. Even the word conjures up dark and spicy things, hidden in the lush places of our hearts.

And I remember when I used to have them.

Children have a way of changing all that. Not only do they leave little room for tantalising other lives, they transform you into a semi-public figure through their insatiable curiosity.

I find myself telling my children things I wouldn’t tell a friend, a lover or even a therapist.  And I’m not sure why.  Maybe just because they ask (all the time) and I’m caught off-guard (and without a convenient cover story). Things about what I just did in the toilet. The meanest name anyone ever called me. Whatever happened to that pre-Daddy boyfriend they saw in that old photograph.

And in return, they take these secret things and broadcast them to the world.

Mummy did a number two.  It’s okay, she flushed.

Mummy’s ears stick out.  But don’t call her wing-nut.  It’s unkind.

That boy had a bad temper. Mummy says it’s okay to feel angry; it’s what you do about it.

The only secrets I have left are kind of vanilla.  And the kids aren’t so interested.  So let me share three of them with you.

1) I spent a looooonnnng time studying serious things and have a serious day job.

I studied a PhD in law at the University of Sydney and sometimes I make my family call me Dr Ros just to remind them that I do know some stuff.  Okay, I don’t really do that, but let me tell you – when an eight year old looks at you dubiously after you tell him the capital of Iceand, it’s really tempting. When I’m not doing my favourite thing (writing fiction) I work for the Australian Government (more specifically, I work in the area of Indigenous policy, which I’m completely passionate about – just ask anyone I’ve ever cornered for a chat on the issue).  While I like to think I bring my writing skills to the table in my day job, occasionally I will get told my brief is just a little too sexy. Oh well, you can’t win ‘em all.

2) I’m a worrier (actually that’s maybe not so secret).  But specifically, I often wake up in the night worrying about whether I’m doing good.

I grew up with parents who told us ALL THE TIME that no-one was just a drop in the ocean, and that you should use your talents for good (whatever that is).  At the moment, I’m really excited about a short story competition I’ve developed for Indigenous high school girls in remote Australia: tomorrowgirl. I’m a huge believer in the transformative power of stories and I’m blown away by the talent I’m discovering among young women in remote Australia

3) And my biggest, dirtiest secret?  I have a salacious fantasy that obsesses me most days.  It  involves a bed, chocolate, a dark, rainy night and a stack of unread books.  *sigh*

Thanks for having me Rachael.  I hope readers will find my mermaid’s secrets far more exciting!

Thank YOU for coming!!! I cannot WAIT to read about your mermaid’s secrets. Speaking of which, here’s the blurb for FISH OUT OF WATER (I dare you to read it and not want to read the whole thing):

Fish Out Of Water_Final.jpg.opt260x389o0,0s260x389 (1)

Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum meets Splash in a sexy, smart-talking debut about a mermaid in a desert, a city under water, and the secret that no one is supposed to uncover.Dirtwater’s straight-talking Deputy Sheriff Rania Aqualina has a lot on her plate: a nicotine addiction that’s a serious liability for a mermaid, a soldier-of-fortune ex who’s hooked on her Mum’s brownies, a gorgeous, naked stranger in her shower, and a mysterious dead blonde with a fish tattoo on Main Street. Heading home to Aegira for a family wedding, Rania has a sinking feeling that’s got nothing to do with hydroporting seven miles under the sea and everything to do with the crazy situation. Now, if she can just steal a corpse, get a crazy Aegiran priest off her case, work out who the hell’s trying to kill her, and stop sleeping with the fishes, she might be able to unravel the mysteries. And maybe even save her own ass while she’s at it.Fish out of Water is the first book in a trilogy about Aegira, an underwater kingdom based on the historical Norse legend of Aegir.

You can email Ros at rosbaxterink@gmail.com or find her at www.facebook.com/RosBaxterInk, on twitter @RosBaxter, or www.rosbaxterink.com

But MOST importantly, you can buy FISH OUT OF WATER from Amazon, iBooks and Escape Publishing.

9 thoughts on “My Secret Life with Ros Baxter

I love comments...

