My Secret Life with Fiona Lowe

Today I’m thrilled to welcome my good friend Fiona Lowe to my blog. I met Fiona online on the RWAus loop and then later at a conference. We immediately clicked and she’s been a huge support to my writing over the last few years. Not only is she a lovely person but she writes exactly my type of books. I was lucky enough to read her RITA Award winning BOOMERANG BRIDE before it sold to Carina Press and I’m so stoked she has a brand new bride series out now. I’m yet to read SAVED BY THE BRIDE  but it is very near the top of my ridiculous TBR pile and I can hardly wait! 

So, thanks for coming today Fiona to give readers a little insight into what you get up to when you’re not writing. Welcome!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I asked my 14 year-old what I should blog about outside of writing, he said, ‘there’s nothing’ to which I said, ‘Go clean your room.’  Recently, with a short deadline, it seems that my life is all work but that’s not strictly true. We, as a family, like to cycle.

Last year, I took this cycling caper to an extreme and went on the Great Victorian Bike Ride where not only did I ride 590 kilometres over nine days, I also did with a group of 14 year-olds. That made it even more of a challenge but we got every kid up every hill…and there were a LOT of hills. We also got through every type of weather from hail and sleet to scorching heat. Were there times when I asked myself, ‘Why?’ Hell, yes! Am I glad I did it? Absolutely? Would I do it again? Yes, but not with the school. I would do it with my husband or friends.

Later this year I’m off to France on a cycling trip with my husband. We’re cycling along the Canal du Midi where I believe there is a scarcity of hills 😉 although if after a couple of days of flattish riding and I am pining for hills, I can cycle up behind the glorious fortified French town of Carcassonne.   Apparently, we will be riding through an area filled with vineyards so that will involve some wine tasting and of course in France, one is never far from a patisserie with amazing coffee, bread and cakes. Hmm, maybe I better ride up those hills behind Carcassonne after all!

Do you have any cycling stories to share?

In my not so secret life, I write books and I’m thrilled to say that Saved By The Bride, the first book in my Wedding Fever trilogy is out now!

SavedbytheBridecoverart

Welcome to Whitetail, Wisconsin, future home of Weddings that WOW!

As acting mayor, Annika will do anything to revive the economy of the town that’s been her refuge ever since her art career imploded and her fiancé walked out. Even if it means crashing an engagement party to talk business with the bride’s billionaire father. But the evening starts with a kiss from a gorgeous stranger—and ends with a night in jail.

Finn Callahan can’t believe his sister is getting married, not after their parents’ disastrous track record. And he’d rather be anywhere than working from his family’s vacation home. Until he catches a leggy blonde sneaking in the window, and suddenly telecommuting for the season is very appealing.

Unable to resist their mutual attraction, Annika and Finn are soon mixing business and pleasure—just for the summer. Too bad Annika’s heart missed the memo about not falling in love…

Book one of Wedding Fever. 99,000 words

Check out the fabulous Saved By The Bride trailer.

Saved By the Bride is available from Amazon Kindle, Barnes & Noble Nook, Carina Press, Kobo  iBooks, and all other eBook retailers.

You can find Fiona on Facebook and Twitter as well as at her home on the web.

Thanks so much for stopping by Fiona! I must admit I RARELY ride my bike – last time was during a family holiday to Rottnest Island in 2010 but I also admit that when I DO get around to it, I really enjoy it! 

14 thoughts on “My Secret Life with Fiona Lowe

  1. Wow! You’re a cyclist! And off to France! What a wonderful way to combine exercise with luxury!
    As a swimmer, my activity session is dominated by water. It must be awesome to be able to take in the sights while you’re you’re pumping all that oxygen into those little grey cells….

    • To be honest, Margaret, I lurch between loving and hating it. I LOVE being out in the bush. I don’t enjoy strong winds, rain or big hills, but I do love a tailwind and going fast down a hill!

  2. Cycling the Canal du Midi? Oh, I am so, so jealous! And Carcassonne is beautiful. Such a romantic site. It was only 3 hours down the road from where we lived in France so we took all our visitors there.

    There’s a great video of Tina Arena singing Aller Plus Haut (great song) at Carcassonne for Le Tour. Seriously worth watching, especially for cyclists! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EBxQvuzh8LE

  3. Hi Fiona and Rach!
    Enjoy cycling in France, Fiona. That will be fabulous – especially with no pack of 14 year olds to muster (you brave woman)!!

    I have a friend who solo cycled in Italy a couple of years ago and selfpub’d a book on it – These Are Your Endorphins Speaking by John Spencer – he had a super time and I think did France with his son after.

    Good luck with your latest Bride Book. Hope it does at least as well as Boomerang 🙂

    Cath xo

  4. I would love to visit Carcassone but I am a bit lazier than you Fiona and would prefer to drive there I think! Did you read Ruthie Knox’s debut novel Ride with Me. It is a steamy romance set against a ride across America and she almost convinced me to get my bike out of the shed

I love comments...

