My Secret Life with Jennifer St George

A massive welcome to the hugely talented, all round fabulous author Jennifer St George!! I’m lucky enough to have met Jennifer and done a brilliant media workshop with her. All her books are in my leaning tower of to be read !! Cannot wait, because if they’re only half exciting as her secret life and hold a fraction of her effervescent personality, I know I’m in for a treat. Jennifer is published by Destiny Romance and her latest release is The Love Deception (what an awesome title)!!

Without further ado.. take it away Jen:

jen

Before I moved to Byron Bay and began writing romance I worked in marketing and management consulting for twenty years. That life is so different to the one I have now, it feels like it’s a secret even to me.  That life involved lots of international travel, hotels, exhaustion, elation and some incredible memories. Fortunately that life has given me lots of inspiration for my stories and is the reason why I set them in exotic international locations. As they say, write what you know.

In that secret life, there are lots of highlights. Here are a couple of memorable moments:

Being picked up by the KGB

I’d flown to Moscow to launch Guinness beer in Russia. When I walked off the plane I was taken by security through a side door and my passport taken away.  To say I was a little nervous was an understatement. But I was quickly ushered through a VIP exit and into the hands of the KGB. Well in reality I was picked up by the head of a Russian drinks distribution company. He’d formerly been a KGB submarine officer. The stories he told! Still it all felt very exciting and a bit risky.

After the launch we walked out into the snowy night through Red Square, past Saint Basil’s Cathedral and to some local vodka bars. I’ve never seen so much vodka in my life. I keep tipping my drinks into a nearby pot plant or I would have been face down under the table.

I’ve never been back to Russia but often think of that exciting time surrounded by Russians, vodka and snow.

I gave away a pub in Ireland

Well I did the publicity anyway.  This was another Guinness promotion and the company organised a competition in the US to give away a pub in County Cork.  Ten Americans were flown to Ireland to compete in pub games to win the pub.  As we were in a tiny little village by the sea, I couldn’t convince many media to attend the event, so I produced a VNR (video news release) and brought down a satellite truck and beamed the story out from there. The story went wild. I fielded calls from all over the world. Jay Leno’s people even rang.  The resulting coverage reached over 40 million people. A bit of a career highlight.

Presenting to financial gurus in New York

I ran some analysis on a major US oil company and discovered something very interesting about their share price. The firm I worked for felt I had to present these results to the financial team in New York. I was terrified. These were US financial gurus. One guy had written the major financial textbooks used in the ivy-league MBA programs. I travelled to NY with the partner of the firm who worked on my presentation all the way from Sydney to NY. I had four hours sleep and then was up at the podium. I was so tired, I don’t really remember giving that presentation or the questions they asked. Afterwards, I had enough time for a walk down Fifth Avenue, have a meal and it was back on the plane. It was insane. I decided then management consulting wasn’t really for me!

I have some amazing experiences in my career, but at the other end of the spectrum, I spent a long time promoting toilet paper and fork-lift trucks, nearly crash-landed in both Geneva and Edinburgh and worked way too many 14-hour days. But all the ups and downs have provided an endless supply of settings and scenarios for my stories.  In fact, all that waking up in different hotels in different countries was the inspiration for my latest release, The Love Deception. I’d often wake up and not know where I was. This is my heroine, Felicity Carter’s experience at the beginning of The Love Deception. From that point on, her life is a rollercoaster ride in the search for truth, understanding and ultimately…love.

What a great concept Jen, I might have to move The Love Deception up my tower 🙂 And I must say I really do hope you put giving away a pub in a book one day!  You can find Jen online at her website, on Twitter and Facebook!

The Love Deception is available now from iBooks, Amazon and Destiny romance, check out the blurb below:

130528 The Love Deception cover

When Felicity Carter wakes up naked in a strange bed, she has no idea how she got there. And  no recollection of meeting the gorgeous man calmly offering her breakfast. Shocked and embarrassed, Felicity flees – hoping that their paths never cross again.

The last thing she expects is to discover that her mystery man is Damon Fullbright, partner at the law firm where Felicity has just started work – and her new boss! Damon is appalled to find the young woman he rescued has been hired to work on his team. Apart from anything else, he doesn’t need the distraction.

Despite their early misconceptions, their appreciation for each other  – both personally and professionally – begins to grow. But when Damon discovers what Felicity’s been hiding, how will he ever trust her again?

A gripping romance that combines courtroom intrigue with a dash of Barbados, The Love Deception is the latest book from Jennifer St George.

26 thoughts on “My Secret Life with Jennifer St George

  1. Fantastic! Congrats on living in the second best region in NSW!!!!!!! And on living your dream.

  2. Ha, you’ve had the life I wished I’d led, Jen! Fabulous post and what wonderful grist for your writing mill! I love your stories and look forward to The Love Deception – you do great dialogue!!
    (And an exceptional media boot camp 🙂 )

  3. Hi Jen. Wonderful post. All that glam and experience comes through in your wonderful books. I’m looking forward to visiting Barbados and seeing it through Felicity’s eyes. Congratulations on the release of ‘The Love Deception.’

  4. HI Jen – fabulous interview and I loved reading about some of your career highlights. They sound brilliant!

    Congrats on the release of The Love Deception, I’m sure it’ll be a fantastic read…..just like your other books 😀

  5. LOVED this, Jennifer. Wonderful stories, especially the Irish pub one. What a hoot! Sigh. I know work travel is never as glamorous as what people think (too exhausting, too much time spent in airports) but you must have had some amazing adventures. No wonder you’re a romance writer with all that to draw on.

    Wishing you all the very best with The Love Deception. I shall celebrate it’s release with a Guinness, just for you!

  6. Thanks, Cathryn. Travelling with work did mean that sometimes I visited amazing places but only saw the inside of airports and hotels. But, sometimes, I was able to catch a day either side for some real adventures.

  7. Wow, great stories! It all sounds so glamourous – but I can imagine the exhaustion that goes hand in hand with it!

    • Kerrie, some of it was seriously glamourous, but also lots of tedious times. Trying to write creatively about fork-lift trucks was certainly a challenge! At one point I was flying to much in Australia the flight attendants knew me on sight. The fact that I hate flying made it all a bit much!!

  8. Do some research and you’ll find that it will cost to Remodel Laminate Kitchen Cabinets your kitchen, and still come out cheaper than either option 2 or option 3. In order to provide a way to get cleaned up. Wary at first, he soon pokes his head out of his shell.

I love comments...

