Do you re-read books!?

Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve blogged – life’s just been flying by at the moment!! But lately I’ve been thinking a lot about books I’d like to re-read. Books that left me feeling as if I wish they hadn’t ended, books I wish I’d written, true comfort reads. I’ve decided that despite the MASSIVE, tottering TBR pile (both in print and on my tablet), I’m going to re-read some books over the next few months.

bridget-1

Below is my list of books that truly held me captivated at various times in the last ten years or so. I’m really interested to see if there are books that I loved the first time round but don’t feel the same about second time around. Often I believe whether I like a book or not, depends on what else is going on in my life and how I’m feeling at the time of reading.

In no particular order this is my list of books I’d like to re-read:

  • Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty – I started listening to the audio book of this while driving (2.5 hours) from our house to the airport for a conference once. I loved it so much, I found the book in the airport bookshop and finished it on the plane!
  • Bridget Jones Diary by Helen Fielding – this was such a fun read and I read it around the time I started writing, so I think it was quite influential in my initial attempts.
  • I Have A Bed Made Of Buttermilk Pancakes  by Jaclyn Moriarty – I was writing reviews for The West Australian when I read this book and was glad I didn’t have to review this one. It was just so amazing and cleverly written – if I remember, scenes are kind of written backwards (had to explain) and I knew I’d never be able to convey it’s ingenuity properly. Saying this, I recommended it to someone a couple of years back and they didn’t like it at all.
  • A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby – I used to read a lot by this author and along with About A Boy, this was one of my faves. It’s about a bunch of suicidal people who meet on a rooftop one night, ready to throw themselves off (and if I recall correctly), they convince each other to give it one more week and then meet again.
  • Faking It by Jennifer Crusie – read this after hearing Jenny speak at a RWAus conf. The book is as funny as the author herself!
  • Mr Perfect by Linda Howard – after Leah Ashton recommended this author, I downloaded this audio book. Loved it so much I went out and bought the print copy and can’t wait to dive into it again.
  • The Magnate’s Indecent Proposal by Ally Blake – my all time favourite Mills & Boon, about a couple who meet when they accidentally switch phones. Funny and sexy, the first third of the book at least is them text messaging each other.
  • Carole King Is An Alien by Yasmin Boland – this is one of two novels written by astrologer Yasmin Boland and I’m gutted she never wrote anymore. Can’t remember exactly why I loved this book (great reason to reread) but I totally did. Think it was it’s quirkiness.
  • Marrying Daisy Bellamy – gorgeous love triangle romance from awesome author Susan Wiggs. Such a heart-warming, feel good story and one of the first of hers I ever read.
  • Love Rat by Moya Sayer-Jones – again I can’t recall why I loved this book but it’s on my keeper shelf so I must have!

So that’s my list – I’m gonna be busy – and I’m sure I’ll think of more as I embark on this project.

I’m curious… do you re-read books and if so what are your faves?

10 thoughts on “Do you re-read books!?

  1. Yes I often re read books. Dick Francis is one author I’ve read many times over. I love The Far Country by Neville Shute.

  2. I used to re-read a lot, but e-readers have changed that for me. It’s just too easy to find something new and clickety-click it into the Kobo or whatever.

    My favourite re-reads though are Jilly Cooper’s Riders, Rivals, Polo and The Man Who Made Husbands Jealous. LOVE those books. They’re such naughty, indulgent fun! I also love, love, love Colleen McCullough’s Rome series. They’re huge books though, and very complex, but worth the effort I reckon. The story and history is fascinating.

    Rach, I used to be a huge Dick Francis fan (anything horsey and I was IN). Wonderful books and well worth a try. Not sure why I stopped reading him but I should get back on the job. As for James Herriot, he’s brilliant too! Great stories and characters. Which reminds me, I have a hardcover anthology on my shelf that I haven’t read since…er…my teenage years. Must revisit!

  3. I’ve just read a book twice. I couldn’t put it down. It’s new Jason Mott The Returned. It’s a fabulous book about human nature. It starts with an elderly couple opening their door to find their eight year old boy who died 50 years before. I wish I’d written it.

  4. My list of BTR just gets longer Rach, I have re read the James Herriot series, I could picture the scenery and actually hear the accents. The Famous Five as a child, my sister and I re read them over and over. Plus Jilted and Man Drought.. have forget the authors name, it will come to me.

I love comments...

