My Secret Life with Dakota Harrison…

I’m trying to recall exactly when I met today’s guest… but the first interaction I can actually recall was via email. She had the most fun interactive backgrounds to her email – lots of colour and happiness, and I immediately knew she was a good sort. We met later and in person debut Samhain author Dakota Harrison is just as lovely.

Dakota’s first book EXHALE was released this month and is on my Kindle waiting to be devoured. Today she shares with us what she does when she’d NOT writing!

Welcome Dakota!!

Michelle cropped at Jo's party

Good morning everyone! Thank you, Rachael, for having me today.

After reading some of the past posts in this vein, my life is rather ‘everyman’ (or ‘everywoman’) in comparison. Two children, husband (some might say that constitutes a third child… 😉 ), and various pets. I run my own mobile hairdressing business three days a week, which suits my writing life perfectly.

This is the view from my office – where the business side of things happen. Or not! Edits and all the other stuff happen here, the actual first draft takes place at the dining room table or recliner chair.

office

It’s certainly peaceful, and I can see if the kids are misbehaving!

I live in rural Queensland, a good three hours from Brisbane. When people think of Queensland, they think warmth and long sunny days. Not here! We have the reputation as the coldest place in Queensland. During summer it’s a blessing – winter, not so much.

One thing I do in my down-time is bake or cook. My favorite things to bake? Sweets. Cakes, biscuits, muffins, and most of all – brownies! I love them still warm, and as a fellow writer and good friend observed – they need ice-cream when warm like that. Also pumpkin soup is a fave in winter!

brownies

pumpkin ssoup

Another thing I love so to travel. I haven’t done a lot of it, but getting married in Hawaii on Valentine’s Day was a wonderful start! This is looking back at Waikiki and Diamond Head from the dinner cruise ship.

waikikiwaikiki 2

The visit to the Pearl Harbor Memorial really struck a chord in myself and my husband. It was humbling to think of what had happened all those years ago, and that the sailors are still entombed there.

Hawaii itself, though, was simply beautiful.

Sunset Beach

This is Sunset Beach, the surfing mecca.

The sand is amazing, it doesn’t stick to you like our white sand. It’s more granular, like sugar, and if you look closely, it’s the prettiest mix of shades of pinks and whites. A week on Oahu simply wasn’t enough!

Thanks for spending a little time and having a sneak peek into my life outside of writing!

Good morning everyone! Thank you, Rachael, for having me today.

Thanks for stopping by Dakota and sharing some of your life with us!! You made my mouth water with those Brownie photos and I’m dreaming of a holiday! 

Be sure to check out the blurb of Dakota’s fabulous new book below and find her on Twitter, Facebook and at her website.

EXHALE – Samhain publishing

Exhale FINAL cover

Takeshi is finishing up a brutal double shift in the ER when a familiar—and bloody—face erases all thought of heading home. The broken body of the woman fighting for her life belongs to Gabby, his best friend’s mother. A woman he’s loved since he turned nineteen, when he foolishly declared his love for her.

She’s not dying today. Not on his watch. And not with a promise left unfulfilled.

Gabby has never forgotten the taste of the kiss Taka gave her under the mistletoe all those years ago. Or the silly promise that surely by now he’s forgotten. She’s wrong. Taka remembers. And she melts as he uses every trick in his highly trained surgeon’s hands to heal her—and rekindle the heat between them.

But there’s a secret lurking in Gabby’s past. And when it follows her all the way to Seattle, it threatens to drag the one man she loves into the nightmare she thought she’d left behind.

You can grab a copy of EXHALE from the following places – Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Booktopia, Samhain or your fave e-bookshop!

11 thoughts on “My Secret Life with Dakota Harrison…

  1. Lovely to see all your Hawaii pics Dakota.
    I take full responsibility for the ice cream addition to your brownies, the next step is hot choc fudge brownie sundaes!
    Congratulations on the release of Exhale. I think I read it in record time, I could not put it down.

    • Hi Pi! There’s *many* more where the Hawaii pics are concerned. 😉 Yes, I blame you fully! Glad to see you taking responsibility for your actions! *lalalalalala* NOT listening re the sundaes… *lalalalalalalalala*!!

      Thanks for the lovely comments and HA! serves you right – just getting you back for sleepless nights on *this* side of the country. 😉

I love comments...

