My Secret Life with Victoria Purman

I’m delighted to have my shelf buddy for October and Harlequin sister (sounds nicer than stable mate) on the blog today!! Victoria has a new contemporary BEACH-SET romance out and I have it on my Kindle and am desperate to start it. I ‘met’ Victoria on Twitter and then we met properly at this year’s Romance Writers of Australia conference in August, so I know her book is going to be fabulous because SHE is!! 

Anyway, I’ll stop yakking and hand over to the star herself. Welcome Victoria…

VictoriaPurman-190

My Non-Writing Life

By Victoria Purman, author of “Nobody But Him” Thank you Rachael for having me on your blog! Our lovely host has asked me to talk about what I do when I’m not writing.

The first thing that springs to mind is: sleeping, of course!

Because, you see, I’ve succumbed to the Dreaded Writers’ Disease. Although definitely not fatal, it means that if I’m not pounding the keyboard, I’m thinking, plotting and obsessing about my characters and how I can throw every obstacle in their way before they reach their happy-ever-after!

I have a very busy life outside words. The husband and I have three teenage sons, so obviously shopping and cooking are important in our household. I quite like to try new things for The Hungry Horde to eat. Jamie Oliver is a big favourite in my house at the moment because I like his concept of 15 minute meals!

I continue to work part-time and I volunteer on a few organizations: the SA Writers Centre, South Australia’s youth arts body Carclew, and my kids’ high school council.

I love music and can even have it playing in the background when I write. Now the kids are older, the husband and I are able to get out more and see bands again – something we did a lot when we first met.

My top three best live shows during the past five years are:

  • British band Elbow (lead singer Guy Garvey actually looked right at me and we sang together!)
  • Lyle Lovett (brilliant songwriter, brilliant singer, brilliant band)
  • and Carole King and James Taylor together on a double-bill. They must have played a million shows between them but they convinced us they were having a ball (and singing along to “You Make Me Feel Like a Natural Woman” with my friends is something I’ll never forget).

I could go on: Foo Fighters rocked; k.d.lang was sublime; Keith Urban was incredible and… I’m running out of adjectives.

When I’m driving, I’m ALWAYS singing along in the car, to artists like those I’ve mentioned above, plus country artists like Blake Shelton, Miranda Lambert and Lady Antebellum. Years ago, I gave up worrying what it would look like – now I just sing proudly!

Although I don’t get as much time as I used to (now that I’ve got The Writer’s Disease), I do like watching TV series like Hart of Dixie, Castle, Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, Miranda and A Place To Call Home.  It goes without saying that the BBC adaption of Pride and Prejudice gets a heavy workout while I’m cooking – I love to have it playing on my iPad while I’m working in the kitchen.

And did I mention reading? How could I forget! I’ll just drop some names: THE Nora, Rachael (of course!), Bronwyn Parry, Helene Young, Sarah Mayberry, Tricia Stringer, Kristan Higgins, Jill Shalvis and Pamela Clare (if you don’t know her, you should definitely check her out, especially her I-Team series which I adore). The best part of being involved in the romance writing community is that there are always new books to read. The worst part is that there just aren’t enough hours in the day to ready everything, right?

When regular life gets too crazy, there’s one place our family escapes to, and that’s the Fleurieu Peninsula on South Australia’s south coast. It’s the place that inspired “Nobody But Him” and it’s beautiful. It’s the perfect place for walks on the beach, whale watching in the winter, body boarding in the summer, beach cricket and champagne on the beach at sunset with awesome friends.

Thanks for having me Rachael! I hope your readers will all join me for a trip to the beach and a little romance this summer.

Victoria

Thanks so much for sharing Victoria – I’m so glad to know that other writers are just as busy as I am 🙂 Now, readers… Victoria has generously offered to do a giveaway of her GORGEOUS book (see the blurb below). To go in the draw to win, simply comment on the blog with your answer to this question:

Q) Describe you best childhood memory of a summer at the beach.

Contest closes midnight Sunday (West Australian time) and I’ll announce the winner next week on my Facebook page and in the comments section of this blog post.

Nobody But Him by Victoria Purman

NBH email cover

She didn’t expect to run into her first love… or to fall back in love with him!

At eighteen, Julia Jones left for the city with a head full of grand plans for an exciting life that certainly didn’t include her hometown of Middle Point – a main street with a pub – or Ryan Blackburn.

But fifteen years – and a lifetime later – she’s forced to put her big city life on hold when she heads home to finalise her mother’s estate. Which is where she runs smack bang into the town’s new champion… the same Ryan Blackburn.

The sensible thing to do? Stay the hell away from him and head back to Melbourne as fast as her stilettos can carry her. But Julia finds his offer of a helping hand and a hot body too delicious to refuse and dives into a reckless, one-time fling.

What she doesn’t realise is that tomorrow has a way of sneaking up, and that saying goodbye to her home town – and to Ryan – is much harder the second time around.

Doesn’t that sound fantastic!! You can grab a copy on Kindle, Google Play, iBooks, Kobo, from Booktopia, Harlequin Books, Dymocks or any of the major chain stores 🙂

And you can find Victoria online at her website, on Facebook and Twitter.

 

40 thoughts on “My Secret Life with Victoria Purman

  1. Really interesting to read more about you Victoria! Love the Fleurieu too, my inlaws have a property near Meadows and from there we head off to the coast. Can’t wait to read Nobody But Him!!

  2. Hi Victoria and Rach! Lovely to learn more about you, Victoria. One beach memory that I have which I still remember with delight is my brothers and sister and I finding a massive, live crab on the beach (on the east coast of South Africa) which someone had painted on. It’s shell was covered with a wonderful, vibrant picture of a desert island with palm tree and setting sun. We spent many hours wondering how the artist has managed to paint the picture without the crab nipping his fingers, and what he must have done to hold it still without injuring it.

  3. Hi Victoria and Rachael – I will definitely be hitting the beach – your beach, Victoria. So looking forward to reading Nobody But Him. Many congrats to you!

  4. Hi Victoria

    Lovely to read about your busy life and congrats on the release of Nobody buy Him, it sounds like a great read 🙂 I also Jamie Oliver’s quick meals 🙂

    When we were little we would head to the beach early (we were all early risers) and have breakfast there. After a swim and play we’d come home around lunch time and rest. I have beautiful family memories of those happy days 🙂

  5. Congratulations, Victoria! It sounds an awesome novel. My teen summers were spent at the beach. To this day I can tell you the three elements that make up granite because. I had a HUGE crush on the ranger who gave the geology talks! He was probably a final year uni student but to my 15 year old self he was the most gorgeous guy. The following year, I had a crush on the marine biologist but don’t remember much from his lectures but I do recall his blond curly hair!

  6. Congrats on your release Victoria – I can’t wait to read it!

    For some reason we rarely went to the beach in summer (probably explains why I’m not a beach goer now), but my grandad was a professional fisherman on Lake Macquarie in NSW. So I have many fond memories of going out in the row boat with him, my sister and cousins and fishing with a hand-line. I’m pretty sure he used to put a fish on our line while we were distracted so they we had the excitement of “catching” a fish 🙂

  7. Hi Victoria, your book sounds amazing.
    My first beach memory. We’d just immigrated from the UK in 1966 with another large family, the Powers, who my parents had known since they were teenagers. I was only 3 years old so I shouldn’t remember this, but I swear I do. The setting – two old Holden station wagons containing 18 pale bodied English people in a state of high excitement and no sun screen! We had an amazing day at Cottesloe beach, every single one of us got burnt. The fun part came when we all crammed back into the cars, pink skinned and covered in sand, drove the half hour back home and realized one of the 18 people had been left behind! The poor Power teenage son had gone to the loo and came back out to find everyone gone. I swear I heard this story for years, every time we all got together, it was always told with love and laughter.

  8. Congrats on the release! I live near the beach and summers growing up, my ultimate day was to spend it there from early morn to dusk. I take my girls to the same place now, I call it my little pocket of paradise, and even in winter, the water is so clear that you could be anywhere in the world, but its not, its home and I love it 🙂

  9. Well done, Victoria, I can’t wait to read your novel. My favourite beach memory is climbing through the rock pools at Easter and discovering a small rock (that we have kept) and we have since named ” Hot Cross Rock” because it is brown and has white quartz running through it in the shape of a cross. It’s just not very edible!

  10. Rah! Another Phryne fan. Can you believe, Victoria, that our Rach doesn’t know who Phryne is? Imagine!!

    Sounds like you’re a very busy lady but lucky for us you still have time to write fabulous books.

    Wishing you all the best with Nobody But Him.

  11. Every Summer meant the beach here in QLD. One year there was a sandcastle building competition on the beach. Our modest effort did not win ,but it was loads of fun. I was wearing a hula skirt that I had received for my 7th birthday. Just the thing.

  12. Did someone mention beach ?

    Lovely post, Victoria, and so good to “meet” a fellow car singer, although our tastes are slightly different 😉
    It seems many of us are working mums, wives, volunteers and know how busy life can be and the more we appreciate books by those authors! Your book certainly sounds wonderful!
    And yes, I love Jill Shalvis as well, and only recently discovered a book by Pamela Clare. Loved it 😉
    As for a childhood memory at the beach? There are soooo many wonderful ones since I’ve moved to Australia, but I suppose the one that stands out from my childhood is when we were at the north sea, with the tide out. We walked and walked, happily jumping in the mud (yes, there’s mud not sand), until mum said after about 20 mins that we need to return before the tide comes back in (which can be dangerous) No swimming that day, but lots of mud-hopping, which was fun too 🙂

  13. I sing in the car too, Victoria – it’s amazing how good you sound singing along to your faves 😉

    I remember when I was a kid, having summer holidays in the caravan down on the South Coast of NSW. Sand burning the soles of your feet, ice cream melting down your arms, building sandcastles with moats around them….good times!

  14. I know a bit late for your competition, as I have just starting to catch up on my e-mails and messages. But I must tell you my greatest beach side story.
    One summer many years ago, I would walk along the beachside paddling in the water which I really loved doing, around dusk, I used to visit the caves which had accumulated over years of the sea hitting the ocean walls. I was in the caves and a young woman had the same thoughts.
    Well she was something plus, and we talked and investigated the caves more, this turned out my first love, we just ended joined, same interests, speak the same words at the same time, this was love.
    Nothing beats a beachside, school holidays romance, which lasted for all school holidays we were inseparable.
    Make a long story short, my first occupation as a Occupational Therapist, and this young woman was a nurse in the same hospital I worked.
    Forty years later we are still madly in love, spending our anniversary at the same beach

I love comments...

