Reblogged from Booktopia’s Booktoberfest

This month Booktopia is celebrating Booktoberfest and lots of publishers have come on board to join the fun. Harlequin Books (my fabulous publisher) have a great prize pack up for grabs, if you buy any of the books in their Booktoberfest spotlight from Booktopia!

Order Outback Dreams or any of the books in the Harlequin Booktoberfest Showcase to go into the draw to win one of six Rural Romance Prize Packs valued at $120!

Prize Pack Includes: Outback Dreams by Rachael Johns, Driftwood by Mandy Magro, Nobody But Him by Victoria Purman and Right as Rain by Tricia Stringer (Published 1st of December).

For further details click here!

There’s also some other special content on the blog this month and I’ve contributed a piece about the Five Writers I Want To Be When I Grow Up. Reblogged below 🙂

Five Writers I Want To Be when I Grow Up

By Rachael Johns

As a romance writer and an English teacher, books are my LIFE. So I have many favourites and many writers I admire. Aside from writing, reading is pretty much the thing I like to do more than anything in the world for so many reasons. Reading is relaxing and therapeutic; it takes me away from the real world and lets me indulge in fantasies (yes, sexy farmers for example), and having books around means I’m NEVER bored. My only disappointment when it comes to books and reading is that I’ll never have enough time to read all the books I want to. Yes, this is a very sad fact.

I have a number of must buy authors – some I’ve even been lucky enough to meet – and I’d like to share with you my Top Five Writers I want to be when I grow up.

1. Marian Keyes – she’s funny in person and on paper. I love her quirky characters and her delicious humour. (fave book – Last Chance Saloon)

2. Helen Fielding – she created one of my all time favourite books Bridget Jones’ Diary, a book that has been read and loved by women all around the world.

3. J K Rowling – I’m a HUGE Harry Potter fan. I read them all when they came out and continue to re-live their fabulousness now as I read them with my boys. Her imagination is awesome and I just wish Hogwarts was real!

4. Kristan Higgins – her books are pure delight to read. Gorgeous heroes and heroines you just want to wrap your arms around and console for their embarrassing moments. And she’s also funny and witty in person. I met her earlier this year at the Romance Readers Convention and wanted to kidnap her. (fave book – Too Good To Be True)

5. Sophie Kinsella, Lisa Jewell, Cathy Kelly, Liane Moriarty, Nora Roberts, Dorothy Koomson and Linda Howard – okay, I cheated and listed more than five but these authors all inspire me to write better every time I read one of their books!

Click here to order Outback Dreams from Booktopia, Australia’s Local Bookstore

I’d love to know who are your favourite writers and what particular you love about them!!

I love comments...

