All the books!!

I often refer to my ridiculous To-Be-Read pile. Lord knows I buy far more books than I read. It’s almost impossible for me to go somewhere that sells books and walk away empty handed. It just doesn’t seem right not to give at least one of those books a happy home. As a result, I have shelves and shelves of books and many of them are still waiting for me to read them.

This week, I decided to count these books and find out EXACTLY how many unread books I own. Note, this list only includes the print books and I shudder to think how many more are on my e-devices!! That Amazon and iBooks one-click thing is SHOCKING for book addicts.

Anyway am going to write my list of books below and I’d love you to let me know, which ones you’ve read and recommend. I’m taking three weeks off writing soon and hope to catch up on a LOT of reading in this time. WHAT should I read first?

Thanks for your help!
x
Rach!

My Ridiculous To-Be-Read pile:

  • Unforgiven – B J Daniels
  • The Bark Cutters – Nicole Alexander
  • Close Enough To Touch – Victoria Dahl
  • Love Is Bad Company – Jennifer Crusie
  • Freefall – Jill Sorenson
  • His Captive Lady – Anne Gracie
  • That Night on Thistle Lane – Carla Neggers
  • Don’t Cry For Me – Sharon Sala
  • The Luxe – Anna Goberson
  • Tell No One – Harlen Coben
  • The Tinkers Girl – Catherine Cookson
  • Beautiful Disaster – Jaimie Maguire
  • Beach House Number 9 – Christie Ridgeway
  • Cloudstreet – Tim Winton
  • Salem Falls – Jodi Picoult
  • The Pact – Jodie Picoult
  • All Fall Down – Megan Hart
  • One Day – David Nicholls
  • Upside Down Inside Out – Monica McInerney
  • I’ll Be There For You – Louise Candlish
  • Smart Women – Judy Blume
  • Smitten – assorted authors
  • The Love Child – Fran Cusworth
  • Water For Elephants – Sara Gruen
  • Beautiful Malice – Rebecca James
  • The Perfect Man – Sheila O’Flanagan
  • Walking Back To Happiness – Lucy Dillon
  • The Fault in our Stars – John Green
  • The Goodbye Quilt – Susan Wiggs
  • Ondine – Ebony McKenna
  • The Love of my Life – Louise Douglas
  • The Inevitability of Stars – Kathryn R Lyster
  • The Cuckoo’s Calling – Robert Galbraith
  • Men I’ve Loved Before – Adele Parks
  • What’s Eating Gilbert Grape – Peter Hedges
  • Secret of the Tides – Hannah Richell
  • Then Came You – Jennifer Weiner
  • Fly Away Home – Jennifer Weiner
  • The King’s Concubine – Ann O’Brien
  • IOU – Helen Warner
  • Trouble – Linda Howard
  • Afterwards – Rosamund Lupton
  • The Dreamers – Nora Roberts
  • Honest Illusions – Nora Roberts
  • The Other Daughter – Lisa Gardner
  • The Making Of Us – Lisa Jewell
  • The Ugly Duchess – Eloisa James
  • Flirting With Forty – Jane Porter
  • Untamed – Anna Cowan
  • Dare To You – Katie McGary
  • Pushing The Limits – Katie McGary
  • Her Mother’s Shadow – Diane Chamberlain
  • Since You’ve Been Gone – Anouska Knight
  • The Help – Kathryn Stockett
  • Black Hills – Nora Roberts
  • Dead Heat – Bronwyn Parry
  • Gold Dust – Kimberley Freeman
  • Belonging – Karen Ann Hopkins
  • Feral Bells – Peta Jo
  • The Long Ride Home – Mary Alice Monroe
  • A Woman Of Substance – Barbara Taylor Bradford
  • Goodbye Lullaby – Jan Murray
  • A Stranger In My Street – Deborah Burrows
  • Better Than Chocolate – Sheila Roberts
  • A Place Called Home – Cecelia Ahern
  • The Secret Ingredient – Dianne Blacklock
  • Half Moon Bay – Helene Young
  • A Duchess To Remember – Christina Brooke
  • Sweet Talk – Julie Garwood
  • While It Lasts – Abbi Glines
  • The Hive – Gill Hornby
  • Killing Time – Linda Howard
  • Mistress To The Crown – Isolde Martyn
  • The Hunter’s Wife – Katherine Scholes
  • Burnt – Karly Lane
  • My Brother But one – T M Clark
  • Driftwood – Mandy Magro
  • London’s Last Scoundrel – Christina Brookes
  • The Sanctuary – Nora Roberts
  • Dark Witch – Nora Roberts
  • The Secret Keeper – Kate Morton
  • Firefly Lane – Kristin Hannah
  • Necessary Lies – Diane Chamberlain
  • Last Christmas – Nora Roberts
  • Before I Met You – Lisa Jewell
  • Kiss River – Diane Chamberlain
  • The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society – Mary Ann Shaffer
  • Ember Island – Kimberley Freeman
  • Eliza’s Gift – Rachel Herron
  • The Carriage House – Carla Neggers
  • The Way Back Home – Barbara Freethy
  • Chesapeake Bay series (four books) – Nora Roberts
  • Heart of the Outback – Lynne Wilding
  • Malicious Intent – Kathryn Fox
  • Slammed – Colleen Hoover
  • Point of Retreat – Colleen Hoover
  • The Light Between Oceans – M L Stedman
  • Come Back To Me – Sara Foster
  • Netherwood – Jane Sanderson
  • The Italian Aristocrat – Louise Reynolds
  • Rules are for Breaking – Imelda Evans
  • The Yearning – Kate Belle
  • You Had Me At Hello – Mhairi McFarlane
  • Outback Sunset – Lynne Wilding
  • The Alphabet Sisters – Monica McInerney
  • Hot For the Fireman – Jennifer Bernard
  • What I Did For Love – Susan Elizabeth Phillips
  • Flowers From The Storm – Laura Kinsale
  • The Sweetheart Bargain – Shirley Jump
  • Heart of Texax – Debbie Macomber
  • And Then He Kissed Me – assorted authors
  • Sleigh Bells in the Snow – Sarah Morgan
  • The Luminaries – Eleanor Catton
  • Poppy’s Dilemma – Karly Lane
  • The House of Impossible Loves – Lopez Barris
  • A Family Curse – Elaine Crowley
  • Starry Night – Debbie Macomber
  • Naken – Megan Hart
  • Taking A Chance – Deborah Burrows
  • Picnic At Hanging Rock
  • The Devil’s Feather – Minette Walters
  • The Thornbirds – Colleen McCullough
  • The Longest Ride – Nicholas Sparks
  • How To Bake The Perfect Life – Barbara O’Neal
  • Witch In The House – Jenna McKnight
  • LA Candy – Lauren Conrad
  • Family Baggage – Monica McInerney
  • That Summer – Sarah Dessen
  • Jasper Jones – Craig Silvey
  • And 22 Mills & Boons!
40 thoughts on “All the books!!

  1. I actually don’t think I’ve read any of them, but I have quite a few of the same books and am in the same predicament so I’ll wait to see what others say! (Though I haven’t read the book I did see the mini series/movie of Cloudstreet and it was a very good story).

  2. You have to read The Help. You’ll love it!! I’m also a big fan of Jennifer Weiner so I think her books should be somewhere near the top. And you MUST read the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

    Also Cloudstreet is amazing and the TV series, although good, just didn’t do it justice.

  3. oooh so many good ones on that list! our year 12’s are doing cloudstreet next year – from what I have heard already its very confusing! The Help is excellent – so is the Bark Cutter, Half Moon Bay, Eliza’s Gift (the whole series by Rachael Herron) – don’t read Nicholas Sparks or Jodi Picoult unless you want to cry!

    • It’s bizarre that through uni learning to teach English and then teaching it, I never had to read Cloudstreet! I’ve read quite a few Jodi Picoult and am hit and miss. LOVED Plain Truth best out of all of hers. Have never read a Nicholas Sparks but have heard mixed opinions!

      • I loved Plain Truth also (don’t mind some of the others but can take or leave her novels anyway), but can only read a Jodi Piccult novel, maybe once a year – they’re waaaay too depressing for me!!!

  4. You’ve got a good pile of books to read Rachael.

    I’d recommend The Help, Flirting With Forty, Beautiful Disaster, Sometimes It Lasts, and Dare You to. These are some of the books on your list I’ve read and loved.

  5. Must-reads:
    The Light Between Oceans
    Water for Elephants
    Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society
    The Cuckoo’s Calling
    all on the list by Nora Roberts
    Devil’s Feather by Minette Walters (I haven’t read this one, but I’ve read most of her others & she’s a fabulous writer.)

  6. The ones I have read and recommend are:
    Secret of the Tides – Hannah Richell
    The Secret Keeper – Kate Morton
    Half Moon Bay – Helene Young
    The Light Between Oceans – M L Stedman
    Cloudstreet – Tim Winton
    Jasper Jones – Craig Silvey
    Beautiful Malice – Rebecca James
    Picnic At Hanging Rock
    The Thornbirds – Colleen McCullough
    The Cuckoo’s Calling – Robert Galbraith

  7. Laughing over your pile, Rach. It’s huuuuuuge!!!
    I’m going to show this to my other half next time he dares have w whinge about my book buying habits and remind him that IT COULD BE WORSE!

    I’ve read several on your list but the ones that stand out as must-reads for me are:
    Afterwards by Rosamund Lupton – She’s amazing. have you read Sister? This one made me bawl. A lot. Wish she’d hurry up and write another.
    The Hunter’s Wife by Katherine Scholes – Love, love, love her books and this one was beautiful. My favourite remains The Rain Queen but The Hunter’s Wife comes a close second.
    The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton – Love her. Gorgeous writing and her stories are wonderful.
    The Thornbirds by Colleen McCullough – I can’t believe you haven’t read it. It’s a classic!!

    • Oh know Cathryn… I felt a bit worried about posting it, cos if my hubby didn’t know how much money I spent on books before, he certainly does now!

      In terms of The Thornbirds, I also have read Gone With The Wind and that’s supposedly a classic too. I think I need a year devoted entirely to reading!

  8. Wow, that’s a pile all right!!!
    I have read a few on this pile & also have a few in my own TBR pile – I always enjoy a Nora Roberts book, she’s fantastic and completely enthralling and Black Hills is one of my favourites.
    Nicole Alexander’s The Barkcutters was good and in the right genre (with added history).
    Monica McInerny is great, have you read At Home with the Templeton’s – fantastic!!!
    I agree with Cathryn about the Thornbirds, it is a classic, but… it’s very intense, deep and in some parts, quite disturbing.
    I LOVED The Help, both the book and the movie.
    My ABSOLUTE Favourite on this list is the Chesapeake Bay Series – I am in love with all 4 ‘brother’s’ and Chesapeake bay itself!!

  9. Your lovely long list sound amazing! I would recommend reading all the Aussie rural books first, Helene Young, Mandy Magro, Bronwyn Parry, etc…because they are all amazing then;
    The Hunter’s Wife by Katherine Scholes – incredible book
    Malicious Intent by Kathryn Fox- Her first book in a series of seven-well worth reading in order or you won’t (sort of) know what’s going on, oh and she’s an amazing author! Love her books!
    Tell No one by Harlan Coben – Oh what can I say but amazing! amazing! fantastic! brilliant!
    Beautiful Malice by Rebecca James – Fascinating and an eye opener
    I haven’t read the books you’ve listed by Kimberley Freeman but her book Wildflower Hill is mesmerising and irresistible! So I’d say your listed ones will be just as compelling.
    Monica McInerney and Minnette Walters (especially Acid Row) are also first-class authors
    Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah -love their works also

  10. Ok so! Water For Elephants, The Fault in our Stars (you’ll need tissues, although maybe YOU won’t, you’re made of stone!), Secrets of the Tides, The Help, Dead Heat, A Stranger In My Street & Taking A Chance, The Secret Ingredient, Half Moon Bay and The Secret Keeper are all pretty much must reads!

    I haven’t read Jasper Jones or The Luminaries but both are on my own ginormous TBR list.

  11. Wow all those books to choose from, I`d love a TBR pile like that one. Loved Half Moon Bay, Family Baggage and The Thornbirds is a must.

I love comments...

