My Top Reads of 2013

For the last few years I’ve been keeping a list of books I’ve read over on my Facebook page. Usually I post this list to my blog, but I decided if you want to read it, you can head on over to my page and have a scan. Click HERE!

I managed to read 66 (I think that was the number last count) books this year. This wasn’t as many as I’d hoped but I did actually start more than this, however now if a book doesn’t grip me within the first chap or so, I move on. Sometimes I’ll go back to it because sometimes it’s the mood I’m in, not the book.

The majority of my books were read in print as although I LOVE my iPad and Kindle for reading in theory, for some reason books annoy me when I read them in digital format. Saying that, some books only come out in digital format and I’ll make more of an effort with them – especially when they’re by fabulous authors I know and love.

So, without further ado my Top Five reads for 2013 were (no particular order and for many different reasons):

  • THE ROSIE PROJECT by Graeme Simsion – honestly if you haven’t read this book yet, I want to know why. It’s LOL and feel-good, with quirky characters (something I adore) and a cute plot. Also explores the more serious issue of Aspergers, which is something close to my heart.
  • SMALL-TOWN STORM by Elise K Ackers – I loved this book so much Penguin asked me to quote on the cover of the trade paperback addition. It’s a romantic suspense with a fascinating premise and fabulous characters!
  • WEDDING NIGHT by Sophie Kinsella – I haven’t read all Kinsella’s Shopaholic series but something made me pick up this book and I’m SO glad I did. I don’t think I’ve laughed so much while reading a book in a LONG time!! Such a hilarious set-up, which is quite unbelievable but the fact it COULD happen makes it work!
  • MAD ABOUT THE BOY by Helen Fielding – I’m a HUGE fan of Bridget from way back and when I heard there was going to be a third one, I just had to have it. NOW! It was a hoot to read – and I felt simultaneously sorry for Bridget while laughing with her and admiring her. It was sad that Darcy was no longer on the scene but I loved this book anyway.
  • WALLBANGER by Alice Clayton – I only finished this book yesterday and I think it’ll stay with me for a while. Despite the erotic sounding title, it’s not THAT graphic a book, but it has one of the sweetest romances I’ve read in a while.

Looking back on my fave reads, one things that stands out is most of them have a high level of humour. So, hit me with books you found funny and I’ll add them to 2014’s TBR mountain!!

 

17 thoughts on “My Top Reads of 2013

  1. I loved ‘The Rosie Project’, off to read Wallbanger now after I finish ‘the Mulberry Tree’ by Jude Deveraux
    Happy holiday reading

  2. 🙂 I must admit, mad about a boy annoyed me to no end, I was so looking forward to reading it, but her attitude to everything drive me nuts, – i mean of I was going into an important business netting I’d switch my phone off, not sex text during it??!! Lol – I think me being a single mum I was hoping I could relate, but I couldn’t – I think the old tired lines from Daniel also wore thin on me… – sorry to be negative, but I think in this case the movie will be better than the book… I did love her friends though, they made me laugh 🙂

  3. Oh, I loved Small Town Storm too! Elise is a wonderful writer. She’s auto-buy for me. The Rosie Project was fab too!

    Looks like I’ll have to investigate Wallbanger now. You’re a bad influence, Ms Johns. I have more books than I can read already!

  4. Damn, seems like I’ll be adding more to my TBR pile too, LOL. I’ve always wanted to read books by Sophie Kinsella so many times I’ve had her book in my hand only to put it back again just wasn’t sure if I should add another author to my many many many authors list, because if I really love an author I can’t just start with any old book I have to read their very first book they’ve written and keep going from there. You wanted to know of any laugh-a-minute books we’ve read well get ready to add these to your ginormous pile lol, (if they tickle your fancy of course hehe), Any Wendy Harmer books – she is a gifted writer of humour in my eyes!
    Megan Crane – Names my Sisters Call me – very uplifting with humour
    Nigel Marsh – Fat, Forty and Fired – Everyone should read this book, heartening and very, very funny
    And of course who can go past Sinead Moriarty – Any book of hers is amaaazing. There are 5 books in the emma Hamilton Series – teary at times but very funny and a few stand alone books that are just so entertaining!

      • Wow New Orleans! You must be so excited…and to room with two other wonderful authors, I’d be tickled pink hehe. New Orleans, sigh!, a place i would love to visit. I’m sure once you have read one of Sinead Moriarty’s books you’ll want to read them all. I’ve made up my mind and will read Sophie Kinsella, I’ll just have to learn to read faster and watch less TV of a night to fit more books in lol.

  5. Humorous Books:
    – Jane Costello – any of her books are filled with hilarious characters who have somewhat disastrous bad luck but always manage to come out on top. I’d
    – Sophie Kinsella – I too have never read the ‘Shopaholic’ series, however I did manage to find “Can you keep a secret?” which is hilarious! Very similar to Jane Costello, I love her quick wit characters who experience the most embarrassing moments we could possibly imagine, and yet manage to give us hope for a positive outcome. I’ll be sure to add “The Wedding Night” to my list!
    – I was given a book called “The Trouble with Valentine’s” by Kelly Hunter. It took me a LONG time of umm-ing and ahh-ing to finally commit to reading it but it was hilarious! It is a far cry from realistic but it’s still worth the time.
    I have recently just read ‘Jilted’ and must say… I loved it! Looking forward to reading the rest of your novels 🙂

I love comments...

