A Tasty Tidbit with Christina Brookes and a giveaway!

Happy New Year folks! My first guest for 2014 is the fabulous and hugely talented Christina Brookes sharing an excerpt from her new release – THE GREATEST LOVER EVER! With a title like that… how can you NOT read it!? I have a copy and cannot wait to get to it. Check out the blurb, cover and fab excerpt below:

GreatestLoverEverAustralian

Title: THE GREATEST LOVER EVER

Author: Christina Brooke

Blurb:

Passion to last a lifetime…

The Sweetest Scandal

Beautiful, exuberant, and stubborn Georgiana Black has more spirit than sense—which she learns when an ultimatum to the Earl of Beckenham ends their engagement. Six years later, Georgie is less concerned with impending spinsterhood than with making sure her young sister doesn’t make the same mistakes she did. But soon Georgie stumbles into a scandalous encounter with none other than her former fiancé. Beckenham is still breathtakingly desirable.

The Truest Temptation

Beckenham’s brief engagement to Georgie taught him one thing: when it comes to a wife, he wants a woman who will do her duty and cause no trouble. When the fiery Georgie falls unexpectedly into his arms, Beckenham remembers just how lushly delectable she is. Suddenly, the idea of actually marrying Georgie is irresistible. In a battle of wills, can passion conquer pride?

Excerpt:

Having once decided upon a course of action he knew was right, Beckenham never allowed himself to be swayed by uncertainty or base cowardice.

He would propose. She would reject him. Then they could go on as before, and he would know he’d done his duty.

In a low tone, he said, “Don’t play innocent, Georgie. I know it was you.”

He observed her closely, had an impulse to whisk that charming bonnet from her head and toss it into the street for the horses to trample.

She evinced no reaction at all. Which of course spoke volumes. Not that he had an iota of doubt on the matter, but if she truly was innocent, his accusations would have produced a reaction of some sort. Fury, most probably. He’d never known a woman with such a temper.

“As I said, my lord, you were mistaken.” She put the faintest emphasis on the final words, and he received her message loud and clear.

She wanted him to take the hint, accept the lie and leave her be. Damn her. She knew he’d like nothing more than to forget the entire incident.

She offered him the craven solution. If he took it, he would know himself for a coward. Worse, she would know it, too.

He wished, with sudden exasperation, that she’d make it easier for him, admit to her presence and let him get on with this damnable proposal. But when had anything that involved Georgiana Black been easy?

She left him in the awkward position of offering to right a wrong she refused to acknowledge they’d both committed.

“I know not why you seek to continue this pretense,” he said, checking his horses to let a dray lumber past them, “but I must tell you that I am not so easily diverted from my purpose.”

“No,” she said, a little wistfully. “You were ever a steadfast type, were you not? Some might call it stubborn. Or pigheaded, perhaps.”

He ground his teeth.

She sighed, and in the voice of one humoring a child, said, “Very well, in the interests of concluding this delightful interview as soon as possible… Let us pretend—for argument’s sake, you understand—that it was indeed I at this party, in this bedchamber, with you.”

She fanned herself a little with her gloved hand. “Goodness, I’m all a-flutter just thinking of it.”

His frustration fired to anger. “Do you think this is a jest, ma’am?”

“Oh, the very cream of jests. However,” she continued, “let us pretend that all of this happened and it is not a figment of your imagination. What then?”

Her mocking tone stripped any desire to couch his proposal in terms that might make it acceptable to her.

“Obviously, I must offer you my hand in marriage,” he snapped. “For an intelligent woman, you are remarkably slow today.”

Finally, she gave him the full view of her face. Shock etched across her features.

For a bare instant, her plush lips quivered.

Then she laughed.

Threw her head back and laughed. A throaty, husky sound that filled him with all kinds of vengeful, thoroughly bawdy thoughts.

The struggle to keep his hands to himself, compounded by the frustration of bowling through populated Brighton streets, fully occupied with steering his strong-willed cattle, made the pressure build inside him until he bit out, “I take it your answer is no.”

Her chuckles ended on a long sigh. “Oh! My dear Lord Beckenham, you vastly underrate your charms if you think that.”

To-Buy Links:

Booktopia

Amazon

Kobo

Giveaway: For the chance to win a copy of THE GREATEST LOVER EVER answer this question in the comments section by Monday midnight EST Australia 🙂

Question: What’s the best or worst proposal of marriage you’ve read/seen/experienced/heard about?

43 thoughts on “A Tasty Tidbit with Christina Brookes and a giveaway!

  1. omg i saw this poor guy propose to his girl in a shopping center, guitars etc the crowd stopped to look , he asked and she grabbed a little guitar and hit him over the head and down he went, hense she stormed off……..

  2. GREAT scene, Christina! And one of my BFFs received her proposal in front of Cinderella’s castle at the Happiest Place on earth, via a plane’s banner as it flew overhead 🙂 She said yes, and they’ve since visited hundreds more times in the 17+ years they’ve been married (now with kids in tow, of course 😉 )

  3. My husband’s family had a Christmas stocking tradition. His grandmother made stocking for him and his brothers. Their names were on the front and their birth year was on the back. The wives of two of the brothers had stockings as well, with their name on the front and the year they married their husband.

    Well, Christmas morning 1989 my boyfriend (now husband) surprises me with my own stocking! In the bottom my stocking was a plastic orange (instead of a real one like everyone else had in their stockings) and inside it was my engagement ring box. He got down on one knee, in front of his entire family and proposed. Of course, I said yes!

  4. What a fab excerpt – love it. I’m also enjoying all the comments so far on best/worst proposals.

    **Jen – love Mr Darcy’s poor first attempt, I’d forgotten about that 🙂

    I like how my DH proposed. He flew to Sydney to speak to my Dad and asked him over a glass of scotch. Back in Melbourne he proposed over a romantic dinner then we flew to Sydney so I could celebrate with my family 🙂 It was beautiful.

    I’ve seen a ton of wonderful clips on you-tube with family singing and dancing and seriously – that’s a hard act to follow!!!!

  5. Great excerpt!
    And great question!
    Not best or worst really but yesterday Mr 6 was watching cricket when he came running in and said a boy had said something to a girl and she’d KISSED HIM in front of everyone. He was horrified. Dad explained it was a proposal but he was still red-cheeked and mystified.
    =)
    My poor hubby asked for my hand accidently. He was asking my older sister (with the utmost casualness) who’d he’d ask permission of if he ever maybe wanted to (my parents were divorced). My sis said ‘Mum’ just as Mum walked in. Ever nosey Mum was all ‘ask mum what’ and he had to cough out the question. Poor love.

  6. Goodness! I don’t read historicals but I think I’m converted! As for marriage props, I don’t have one but I think the worst has to be anything that involves a proposal in a public arena, think Kimye, not that’s romantic, not!!!!

  7. Like Janette I am not a big historical reader, but this looks like a must read Christina… proposals -working in hospitality, I’ve seen a few weddings, and heard some stories about proposals, and one of the one’s that stands out the most is a guy who got up to speak about his new wife, and started with… wait for it… ‘Well fellas, plenty of you in the room have had a go at that **** between her legs, but now I get to **** it whenever I want.

    I was utterly horrified, and in the ensuing two seconds the bride and chief bridesmaid flung back their chairs, called him all manner of unspeakable things and after a scratching, punching frenzy (ended by the best man, who also as classy as the groom, laughing whilst helping the groom away from the women) left with a one finger salute, an equally as common unpleasant farewell.

    THEN… the groom announced to the room that he only married her because of her – ahem, assets.

    HOWEVER… on a delightful note, the very best proposal I have been personally involved in, is one of my husband’s best mate’s wanted to take his girlfriend swimming with dophins (a dream of hers), so organised this (we were all holidaying together) and when it was just the two of them, he tee’d up the dolphin trainer to have the dolphin deliver her a package on the tip of its beak, and of course, inside were the words will you marry me alongside a sparkling diamond…

    AWWW – still makes me well up thinking about it!!!!

  8. Thats a great excerpt, the books sounds like a lot of fun. A friend of mine once confided his failed marriage proposal story over drinks one night. Apparently it went ‘Theoretically, what would you say if I suggested marriage.’ I told him its probably best to leave the word theoretically out of any future proposals.

  9. This one is going on the TBR pile. It sounds great 🙂
    My sisters proposal takes the cake. BIL flew her up to the top of a glacier in New Zealand, proposed, and then they skied down! So cool.
    A certain someone proposed to me in bed one morning, and then presented me with a hose connector as evidence of his undying devotion. I still give him a hard time about it!!! (and i do still have the stupid hose connector, it was so funny ;D)

  10. Caitlynn, the glacier sounds amazing! But somehow the hose connector really gets me where I live. I love it. You can guarantee that NO ONE has a story like that!

    Thank you, I hope you enjoy the story if you do read it!

  11. Oh, I soooo love your writing, Christina. So clever and fun!

    As for proposals, I witnessed a really sweet one on the banks of the Yarra in Melbourne one lunch. We were dining at one of the many restaurants along there and the whole place was entranced as he went down on bended knee. Then we all cheered when she began crying and nodding like crazy. It was completely heart-warming.

    • Waving madly! Hi Cathryn, lovely to see you here and thank you for the compliment 🙂 I love the sound of the good old-fashioned down on one knee proposal. Good on him! Why doesn’t that ever happen when I’m out to dinner?

  12. Ooh, another one for my ever-increasing TBR pile!

    My own proposal was pretty darn good, and I had no idea it was coming AT ALL! We’d been together for nearly six years at the time.

    The now-hubby and I were in Venice at the end of a week travelling around Italy. My goal for Venice was to go for a gondola ride. Thoroughly expensive, but hey! We were rounding a corner out on the Grand Canal, when I saw him pull something out of his pocket.

    He popped the question as we were approaching the Rialto Bridge, and I just bawled. It was just gorgeous. To top it off, as we were about to sail under the Bridge, we heard and then saw the people lining the bridge applauding us.

    The hubby had even asked my dad for permission beforehand, and had been carrying the ring around in his wallet for six weeks while we travelled. As he couldn’t save the original box (he didn’t want me to find it along the way), he even popped into a jeweller in Venice to beg for a new box the day we arrived.

I love comments...

