Best job in the world with Vanessa Garden!

Today I welcome the gorgeous Vanessa Garden – fellow sandgroper and all round lovely person – to my blog. I recently read Vanessa’s debut YA novel CAPTIVATE and it most certainly did CAPTIVATE. Check out the blurb below – it’s a fab read!

I believe there are three best jobs in the world – being a writer (well, obviously), working in a library and working in a bookshop. Vanessa Garden is lucky enough to have two of these jobs and I asked her to share a little bit about her experiences working in a  bookshop.

Welcome Vanessa!

5 Great Things About Being a Writer and a Bookseller:

1. Finding inspiration in your workplace.
Working at Collins Booksellers Gateway, I’m lucky to be surrounded by books, books and more books during my day job, so business and pleasure are rolled into one. I come home each day, pockets crammed with little scribbled notes, because I get so inspired by the many amazing books that arrive at the store each day.

2. Taking note of what sells and what doesn’t. 
I get to be a fly on the wall to people’s reactions to covers, book blurbs and the books themselves. I take great pleasure in discussing books with our regular customers and at the same time I’m always taking mental notes on what they’ve liked about a book and what they’ve disliked. Currently, in our store, I’d say that Young Adult and Crime/Thrillers are our biggest sellers.

3. Working in a bookstore gives me a good dose of reality.
I nearly cried the first time I saw books being loaded into boxes for the dreaded ‘Return’. These were huge names in writing and I was saddened that sometimes  even they don’t sell as well as expected. In a way, it was a nice reality check and has prepared me for the life of an author (though my boss had better not return any of my books ;))

4. I get to predict the next ‘big thing’ with my co-workers. 
Our latest prediction is ‘Fifty Shades of a Wimpy, Angry Cat’ (in diary format of course)

LOL – I can’t wait to see that 🙂

5. Best of all, I get to promote my own book at the store where I work! 
My freshly printed books happened to arrive on the day I was working so I was lucky enough to unpack, enter, sticker and shelve my own books. This was such a special moment for me and I’ll never forget it.

002Hands up if you want Vanessa’s day job? 

Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing that insight into the life of a bookshop employee and writer. I hope CAPTIVATE sells squillions of copies and there are barely ANY returns. Check out the blurb of Vanessa’s fab book below:

CAPTIVATE

In a glittering underwater world, nothing is as it seems…

For the past twelve months since her parents’ death, seventeen-year-old Miranda Sun has harboured a dark secret — a secret that has strained the close relationship she once shared with her older sister, Lauren. In an effort to repair this broken bond, Miranda’s grandparents whisk the siblings away on a secluded beach holiday. But before Miranda gets a chance to confess her life-changing secret, she’s dragged underwater by a mysterious stranger while taking a midnight swim.

Awakening days later, Miranda discovers that she’s being held captive in a dazzling underwater city by an arrogant young man named Marko…the King of this underwater civilisation!

Nineteen-year-old Marko intends to marry Miranda in order to keep his crown from falling into the sinister clutches of his half-brother, Damir. There’s only one problem: Miranda is desperate to return home to right things with her sister and she wants nothing to do with Marko. Trying to secure her freedom, Miranda quickly forms an alliance with Robbie — Marko’s personal guard. However, she soon discovers that even underwater, people are hiding dangerous secrets…

Grab your copy of Captivate from Amazon, iBooks, Booktopia or your nearest bookshop!

You can find Vanessa online at her blog and on Twitter.

3 thoughts on “Best job in the world with Vanessa Garden!

I love comments...

