In which I ask Jennifer St George the tricky questions!

I’m delighted to welcome the gorgeous Jennifer St George back to my blog today. I had a lovely dinner with Jennifer at the last Romance Writers of Australia conf but it just wasn’t long enough, so today I’m happy to be chatting to her about a variety of things, including her latest book from Destiny Romance, THE BILLIONAIRE’S PURSUIT OF LOVE (which happens to have a VERY dreamy cover).

jenn st george Thanks for having me back, Rach. Always lovely to chat with you.

  • Aw shucks. Same to you m’dear. So for the questions: What is a book you will NEVER read? Why?

Wow, that’s a really great question. I don’t think I’ll be able to read The Road, by Cormac McCarthy. There’s no hope, everyone is dying, a father is desperately trying to keep his son alive by keeping him out of the hands of cannibals and he’s trying to keep his humanity in the face of certain death – for him and his son. I know The Road is a modern classic and I don’t mind a challenging novel but this one might be just a step too far.

  • If your partner granted you a Hall Pass with one celebrity, who would you choose? (N.B. Hall Pass is the chance to spend one intimate night with a specific person and not get into trouble from your partner)

You’ve got some real kickers today, Rach. Hmmm, let me think. I’ll just ask my husband. Ooops – that didn’t go well. I reckon it would have to be Bradley Cooper but let’s just keep that between us.

  • Where is one place you would like to travel one day?

I’ve been to France a number of times but I’ve never been to Versailles. I have a hankering to wander around those magnificent gardens, stroll though the ornate halls and imagine what life would have been like with the incredible clothes, fabulous food and ridiculous overindulgence before it was all brought to a close by the guillotine.

  • Top five things on your bucket list?

Not sure if these are my top five but they are the first that popped into my mind:

  1. Buy a French châteaux and sit at my antique desk by a huge window staring over my park-like ground at my lake which has a fountain while I write best-selling novels
  2. Try my hand at writing single-title romantic suspense
  3. Live overseas again – somewhere in Europe
  4. Learn French
  5. Complete an MA in Creative Writing
  • I hear you’ve just got a Thermomix? Are you in love yet? What’s the best thing you’ve made?

I’m so in love with my Thermy. I’ve made soup, coleslaw, stock and custard. Last night I tried to make spaghetti bolognaise. I read various reports on the internet that this was not a good idea, but I was determined. It is a family staple. But it was a disaster. I made bolognaise goo. It tasted okay but it looked awful. The dog will be eating it for the next few days. Won’t be doing that again.  Would gratefully receive tried and true recipes.

  • I know you are a runner… can you tell me how and why you got into running?

When I was at high school I was a good country-country runner. Even came 3rd in the Brisbane regional cross-country one year. Then life took over and I didn’t run consistently for about twenty-five years! But running was such an efficient way to stay fit and I remember really enjoying it. Also my daughter is showing incredible aptitude (she made it to the NSW State finals at aged 8 and we didn’t even know she could run!) so I now need to keep up with her. I joined the Michelle Bridges run 10km program and voila, I can now run 10km. I run three times a week – 2 x 5km and 1 x 10km (well sometimes its only 7-8km – that’s another secret we might have to keep).

  • Now for the nitty gritty – what’s your latest book and why should we read it?!

The Billionaire's Pursuit of Love cover

My latest book is The Billionaire’s Pursuit of Love. I love this book. I bawled my eyes out in the black moment every time I revisited the scene. So embarrassing when tears are pouring down your face in a café. So I hope that some of that emotion actually made it onto the page.  The story’s premise is:

When Sarah Walker’s beloved wildlife sanctuary is threatened with closure, she heads for London and goes straight to the top to find out why. But the man responsible is the one man she’s never forgotten, and the only person who can destroy all her happiness.

Billionaire CEO Blake Huntington-Fiennes can’t believe that the girl he’s spent years searching for has just marched into his boardroom. And this time, he’s willing to resort to any means necessary to keep her. But Sarah has a secret she must protect at all costs or risk losing something even more precious than the sanctuary…

You should read it because it is chock full of my usual luxurious settings (from high-class London to the sweaty jungles of Brunei), hot sexy romance and killer conflict.

This is also a second-chance at love story. I love this romance trope. This is a favourite romance story-line for me. I love to know other reader’s favourites. Leave a comment for a chance to win an e-copy of The Billionaire’s Pursuit of Love.

Second chance at love stories are one of my favourite tropes too. Can’t wait to read it. 

You can grab a copy through Amazon, iBooks, Kobo and all other e-retailers

And don’t forget Jennifer is generously offering one lucky blog commenter the chance to win a copy of THE BILLIONAIRE’S PURSUIT of love. To go in the draw let us know your favourite romance trope 🙂

21 thoughts on “In which I ask Jennifer St George the tricky questions!

  1. Fantastic questions and even more fantastic answers, ladies. What a hoot!

    I really need to investigate this Thermi business, Jennifer. So intrigued! There’s a local demo coming up next month. I just may have to sneak along…

    All the best with your Billionaire. What a sexy smoulder he has!

  2. Hi Rach and Jen – what a fab interview, loved it 🙂

    Bradley Cooper being your Hall Pass? I knew there was a good reason I like you Jen, we both have good taste 😉

    Congrats on the release of “Billionaire” with it’s beautiful cover! It’s a fab read, well done!!!!!!

  3. Congrats on your newest release, Jen, it sounds like a real winner. Your bucket list #1 just made it onto my bucket list – maybe we’ll be neighbours one day 😉
    Very excited for you, I hope this title brings good things for you. Thanks for hosting, Rach.

  4. One of my favorite tropes is the secret baby. It usually changes everything when the revelation comes to light. Mind you these days the secret baby is usually the result of the heroine’s significant other cheating and not so much the heroine getting knocked up. Either way it always adds a fresh spin to a classic.

  5. Congrats on your intriguing questions Rachael, and your answers Jennifer – got to love France and I too would love to visit Versailles – spent a week in Paris but didn’t get there (I think I spent too much time exploring the Louvre) as to tropes – I love 2nd chances, secret babies, taming the bad boy or a mixture of all three

  6. Hi Rachael and Jen, great blog post! I’m also a fan of the second chance scenario, especially the built-in conflict it brings. And of course the advance and retreat of reconciliation only adds to the mix! Speaking of mix, Jen take a look at http://www.recipecommunity.com.au, an online home for Thermy users 🙂 No I don’t have one, just hear a lot about them!

  7. I love second chance at love and boy next door tropes 🙂

    I agree with you about The Road – it sounds incredibly depressing…

    All the best for The Billionaire’s Pursuit of Love – such a sexy smoulder on the cover!

I love comments...

