What do you wear? An interesting idea with Georgina Penney

Have you heard of Destiny Romance’s delicious new chick-lit line!? A lover of chick-lit from WAY back in Bridget Jones days, I was excited to hear the news that Destiny will be publishing a chick-lit line and I’m delighted to have one of Destiny’s own with me on the blog today – the lovely Georgina Penney.

Georgina’s new book IRREPRESSIBLE YOU sounds absolutely hilarious (and I can’t WAIT to read it):

Irrepressible You Cover

You don’t become a notorious British celebrity without rubbing a few people the wrong way, which is why writer and comedian Ben Martindale has decamped to Australia until the latest media frenzy dies down.

When he meets Amy Blaine, a perky blonde who dresses like a 1950s pin-up girl, he knows he’s hit the satirical jackpot. He begins to fill his weekly London column with snarky observations about her life, clothes, and even their most intimate moments. It doesn’t occur to him that Amy, who is letting her guard down for the first time in her adult life, might be upset – after all, it’s hilarious, and his readers love her!

It isn’t until Amy discovers the extent of his betrayal that Ben begins to realise just how badly he’s cocked up the best thing that ever happened to him. But is it too late?

And now over to Georgina to ponder something which really resonates with me (someone who spends most of my days in Bonds short or trackie pants depending on the weather). Welcome Georgina…

Last week I found myself up to my calves in water feeling the antithesis of glamorous. In fact, I was so saturated that the drowned rats swimming past were giving me their hairdressers’ business cards.

While wading my way to my car, trying to remember exactly why I’d needed desperately needed to buy a jar of nutella, two other thoughts occurred to me. One was that I was bloody insane for thinking skinny jeans were a smart idea in this kind of weather and the second was that I hadn’t worn any shoes other than a daggy pair of thongs for a month.

A bit of thought on the subject had me wondering if the shoe situation wasn’t maybe the reason for why I’d been wearing pretty much the same pair of jeans paired with random T-shirts for months as well. My reasoning had been that anything else would just make me feel like I was trying to impersonate a peacock with pigeon legs.

But looking down at my flooded tooties, I came to a decision. Weather be damned! If I wanted to totter about in impractical footwear, I’d bloody well do it. There are just some moments where a lady has to take the plunge and force herself to have a goddamn sexy day, even if it does only involve a trip to buy milk and fill up the car with petrol.

So, decision made, I made a detour on the way home and brought a pair of nice cheap-I-don’t-care-if-they-die-from-drowning heels and put them on. That felt good. Really good. (If not a bit squelchy.) The minute I got home, I surveyed my wardrobe realizing just how many skirts, dresses and pants I hadn’t worn for months because I’d told myself I didn’t need to dress up because of the weather, the fact that I’m not going anywhere special, the heat, pms… you name it!

So the past two days I’ve started an experiment. I’ve put on makeup before starting my writing day, I’ve frocked up to go to the shops, I’ve swanned around the local open air fruit and vege market in a skirt and pretty shirt and wow, I’ve felt a million bucks. It feels like the romance is back, which is a bit handy if that’s a lady’s genre of choice.

It’s still raining. In fact, the flood water around our house is so high I’ve got fish swimming through my garage but there’s a benefit I’ve worked out about wearing nice shoes in the rain. I can always justify buying another pair if these ones die;)

Thanks Georgina! That was fun and I’m curious blog readers, what’s the most extravagant fashion item you’ve bought lately and have you worn it yet?! 

You can find Georgina on Facebook, Twitter and at her website!

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “What do you wear? An interesting idea with Georgina Penney

  1. I bought a lovely amber bracelet in the US last year and still haven’t worn it because it’s ‘too dressy’. I’m just not in touch with my inner bling goddess.

  2. I’m not a shopper, but I admire people who are. My sister and my best friend are amazing with clothes and they always look like a million bucks. Having read Irrepressible You, I can so vouch for the fashion sense you have in the book Georgina, and so I can so see you swanning about the shops looking glam.

  3. I don’t know if it’s extravagant–it wasn’t expensive, less than $50 on ETSY. I bought myself a leather wrap bracelet. It has two horseshoes connected by a heart–all the luck is running into the heart. I can wear it casual or dress it up a bit. Love it!

  4. I bought a bright pink maxi skirt, which I have never worn. Not exactly outrageous, but the colour is definitely eye-catching 😀

    What an original plot for a book, definitely going on my to-read list.

  5. I just finished Irrepressible You and really enjoyed it. Thanks for making Ben squirm before getting his HEA 🙂

    What do you mean buy something and not wear it????! No way. I love all my purchases – especially my vintage style dresses from Lindy Bop and Mod Cloth 🙂

I love comments...

