The most expensive zoo trip EVER!!!

This weekend past was all kinds of exhausting and all kinds of fun. Because I’ve been going away a bit for my writing lately and feeling guilty about leaving the family, I suggested (when I wanted to go to the Australia Romance Readers Association Awards dinner) that they come too. A long weekend in Sydney, in which we could catch up with my cousin and take the kids to Taronga Zoo sounded like a nice idea in theory, but honestly, I think I must have been on drugs when I decided to do it!

photo-89

We took the midnight horror/red-eye flight out of Perth Thursday night and arrived in Sydney at 6am Friday morning. Thankfully the lovely lady at our hotel felt sorry for us and checked us in early so we were all able to have a lovely nap before heading out for lunch and a look around. As High Maintenance is studying the convicts in history, we went to The Rocks Discovery Museum and then had a lunch/breakfast/dinner (we weren’t really sure by then) at Pancakes On The Rocks. If you haven’t already worked it out already, I’m a HUGE pancake fan!

1900149_10152029645261728_1555518755_n

But the big highlight of the boys’ weekend (aka the title of this post) was a trip to Taronga Zoo where we met with my lovely cousin Mike and his gorgeous girlfriend Leila for a few hours. I hadn’t been to Taronga zoo in almost thirty years and it is just gorgeous. We didn’t have long enough unfortunately.

photo 3-4 photo 4-3

And we saw LOTS of eight-legged reasons why Sydney is okay to visit but not to live. There were MASSIVE spiders ALL over the zoo!! See pic below!

photo-91

Then on Saturday night, I dolled up and left hubby with the three heroes in training to attend the Australian Romance Readers Association Awards Dinner. It was a splendid night and huge thanks must go to Debbie, Heather and the whole ARRA committee for their hard work in organising this awesome event. My only complaint is that the night wasn’t long enough!! A few pics below 🙂

photo-90

Highlight of the night (aside from seeing fabulous friends) was Monty (Daniel Montgomery) from OUTBACK DREAMS winning Sexiest Hero!! Alas I didn’t win the other categories I was nominated in but huge congrats to Amy Andrews who won Favourite Contemporary for HOLDING OUT FOR A HERO and Anna Cowan who won Favourite Australian Romance Author. 1507004_10202276244960563_2004382424_n

A Harlequin Aus photo with Kendal Talbot, Victoria Purman, Christina Lee and Tina M Clark in the back row and Sue Brockhoff (my publisher) and myself in the front row!
10003404_10152343447577354_1756174461_n

Some of my favourite people – Janette Radevski, Lisa Ireland, Cathryn Hein and Amanda Knight.BjUXlmYCcAA3O13.jpg-large

Me with the tall, dark and handsome John Purcell from Booktopia (a fab place to buy books online)!BjUYEsnCQAAshFO.jpg-large

Me and Sue again 🙂

For the official blog about the Awards click here. And if you love romance and aren’t yet a member of ARRA, I suggest you fix that quick smart!

7 thoughts on “The most expensive zoo trip EVER!!!

  1. Love it when you blog, highly informative and very entertaing, lpve the fact that you have high praise for other authors and you are still down to earth beautiful person..

  2. It looks like you had a great time! Congratulations on your win for sexiest hero!

    By the way, Daniel Purcell looks like he could be on the cover of any of your books. He’s total eye candy!

I love comments...

