PATTERSON’S CURSE week one!

Hi folks

I’ve been quiet on the blog for a while recently but I thought it might be fun to blog the journey of writing my next book. I’ll try to blog every Monday morning, updating you all on what’s happening in the book and how I’m tracking.

Today is the first day back at school for my boys for Term 3 and I’m kickstarting the new book. Details below:

Title: PATTERSON’S CURSE (this is a working title and may still change)

Word count: aiming for 100k but feel like I might go anywhere up to 120k

Deadline: Dec 1st for my publisher but Nov 1st for me. I like a few weeks to read through and edit.

I will aim to write every weekday and get about 2000 words. I’ll sometimes write on the weekends. I will likely take the October school holidays off to read and hang with the kids. I also have a week away for the Romance Writers of Australia conference in August and a tour with Fiona Palmer in September/October. This means I have about eleven weeks of writing time. At 2k a day I SHOULD achieve my goal. Of course, there’ll be kids sick days, school carnivals, edits and other things crop up in there but I will do my best.

And please feel free to ask any questions you have about my writing process or the book in the blog comments section 🙂

First things first… A clean and tidy desk.

photo 1-14

I’ll take another photo when I’ve finished the book!

I’ve also started a Pinterest page for PATTERSON’S CURSE. To check it out click here! There are four sisters in this story and it’s my first attempt at a more Women’s Fiction than Romance story. And as the title says it’s about a curse. The curse of the Patterson family, not the weed that plagues farmers!

In addition to Pinterest preparation, I’ve started a brand new notebook to record my thoughts, ideas and future directions of the story. I guarantee by the end it will be a total and utter mess.

photo 2-14Now I’m cheating a little bit because I proposed this book to my publisher a while back and wrote the first few pages back then. So I think it’s only fair that I share the first few paragraphs with you to start this blog series. While you read, I’ll get writing!!

 

Chapter One – South Australia

‘Dad.’ The word slipped from Lucinda Patterson’s lips on a whisper as she walked through gate 29 Adelaide Airport and spied her father. The last time she’d seen him was almost six months ago and she wasn’t sure if he looked better or worse. He’d lost weight and appeared to have grown a few more greys in his thick mop of black hair. He stood tall, his glasses perched on his nose as they always were and his arms folded across his chest as he waited in a sea of people desperate to claim their loved ones so the holiday season could kick off.

Thrusting her shoulders back and pushing her chin high to give an air of confidence she didn’t feel, Lucinda side-stepped a couple so lost in a passionate reunion that they either didn’t care or hadn’t noticed that they were holding up the traffic. Once upon a time she and Joe had been like that whenever he came home from his two weeks up north, but lately, not so much. Pushing that thought away, she stepped around them and her dad rushed forward, his arms wide open for her. Her handbag slapped against her back as she flung herself into his arms and dropped her head against his strong, broad shoulders.

‘Dad,’ she said again as tears welled in her eyes.

‘Lucinda,’ he whispered back. ‘My Lucinda.’ His voice held raw emotion, making her feel safe and loved and needed all at once. Still holding her, he shuffled them slightly to the left and out of the throng of people rushing to leave the plane. There wasn’t room for her and her dad and the tongue-locked lovers.

‘How are you, sweetheart?’

His heart-felt question almost unraveled her. It was she that should be asking him that. He’d been the one that had been six months without his soul mate. Although she too had been six months without her mother, living away she’d sometimes forgotten that her mum wasn’t still in their home town of Meadow Brook, making beds, cooking meals and greeting guests at the Meadow Brooke Motel. Living away she could sometimes still pretend that her mum was alive, but being back home for Christmas would put an end to that illusion pretty damn quick.

 

20 thoughts on “PATTERSON’S CURSE week one!

  1. Hi Rachel great news that your starting your new novel today and also writing a blog. I don’t know how you fit it all in to your busy life. When you said you aim to be finished by Nov 21st, did you mean this year or next? I look forward to reading your blog! cheers Delores

  2. I really love the way you are doing this book, allowing your readers achance to see the story unfold. Also putting faces to the girls, this makes them soooo real. Almost like being in the same room.. Thank you Rach this is Magic.

  3. Thanks for sharing this with your readers. So very interesting and I look forward to seeing your story evolve …

  4. Ooh Yay! Looking forward to following your journey for this book!
    Are you like Roald Dahl and need to use the same book each time, or do you switch notebooks around to make it more interesting!

  5. Love to hear about how your book unfolds, so far I`m hooked on the story and look forward to the end result. Great work Rachael.

  6. Hi Rachael, I am new to reading, have not long finished JILTED and loved it so looking forward to reading more of your books. Hopefully I will have time to read them before Patterson’s Curse is released. Love this idea of you writing a blog and us being able to come along for the ride. Now I will be looking forward to Monday mornings! 🙂

    • Hi Geraldine – so lovely to “meet” you! I’m really pleased you enjoyed JILTED and I hope you enjoy the rest of the books. And yay for something good on Monday mornings. x Rach!

I love comments...

