PATTERSON’S CURSE week two!

Hi folks

Week two is just kicking off here in PATTERSON’S CURSE land so as promised here’s my update.

Progress thus far:

  • two chapters
  • 10,348 words

This is not quite as far along as I was hoping to be by now as I’m aiming for 15k per week. However this week I had an evening event in a town two hours away and also the final read through edit of THE ROAD TO HOPE (out March 2015) to do. So I’m trying not to berate myself too much.

In addition to these chaps I made a lot more notes this week about what will happen in certain scenes and tried to jot down some sort of time line for necessary events. Much of my “plotting” happened when I’m out on my daily walk with Rose my dog and if I feel the need, I use the voice recorder on my phone to make I don’t forget.

I’m working my way into this novel, which is a little different (as I said to my others).

I have four sisters – Madeleine, Lucinda, Charlie and Abigail – and the challenge for me is telling their stories equally, knowing when to change from one point-of-view to another. I think this will be easier as I progress into the story but in these early chaps when I’m trying to set the scene, it’s a bit like a jigsaw puzzle.

In my romances I try to get to the action of the story fairy quickly – I guess I mean showing the conflict and attraction between the hero and heroine at at least the first couple of chapters, but I have noticed in women’s fiction authors often take more chapters to set up the premise.  That is certainly my experience so far with PATTERSON’S CURSE. I’m trying not to stress too much about this and just follow my gut and I’m praying like crazy it’s working.

Hope to have more of an update on how the story is progressing next week.

Until then.

x

Rach!

8 thoughts on “PATTERSON’S CURSE week two!

  1. 15k words per week is bloody impressive! Even 10k – whoa! No wonder you’re such a great novelist! Patterson’s Curse sounds really interesting, I’m keen to hear more progress!
    And The Road to Hope – I’ve read the synopsis and I’m so looking forward to it!
    Miranda x

  2. Fascinating hearing about the birth of a new novel and the work, planning and commitment involved. Gives a new appreciation when sitting down as a reader to enjoy the fruits of your ‘hard labour’ 🙂

I love comments...

